We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Zealand Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Zealand Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is well positioned in the centre of Wellington, within easy walking distance of the major tourist attractions. We stayed for two nights, but did not dine at the hotel as arrangements had been made elsewhere. The breakfast was very good. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear FrankB,
I was delighted to read your comments in relation to your stay here at the Amora Hotel Wellington; it is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback! I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again at some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    512
    172
    43
    37
See reviews for
103
515
63
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Amora during our short NZ holiday. The location, right across from the harbor and Te Papa museum, and right in the middle of commercial Wellington, can't be beat. Cuba street is a block away. While the lobby is a little corporate, the rooms are very pleasant and comfortable: five-star amenities. Parking is limited and expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikenDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear MikenDavid,
Thanks so much for providing such an encouraging review of your stay, which I will be sure to pass on to my team here at the Amora Hotel Wellington. I very much appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider a return visit to us here in Wellington.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Amora Hotel is a nice place located near the harbor in Wellington and the Te Papa Museum. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the hotel has a nice atrium and the restaurant with the hotel was good, though we found it slow (that could be just a culture issue, Americans are used to very prompt service, the rest of the world enjoys a more leisurely pace). While this is a very nice place, we had some minor issue, such as the no city maps, free internet was only a 1/2 hour, and the concierge did not have information on the plays/theaters in the area. On the last point, since there were several theaters right by the hotel, you would have thought they would have been on top of what's playing, when, how much, etc. They were training people while we were there, so this could have just been an inexperience issue. There are many restaurants right by the hotel along with retail centers which just adds to it's convenient location. I would recommend it as a place to stay.if you need to be in the center of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiskersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Whiskersr,
I very much appreciate your feedback. I have discussed your comments with my F&B and Front Office Managers who will ensure that these areas are addressed. Thank you for bringing them to my attention, and I apologise for any inconvenience created in relation to these matters. I am happy that you enjoyed the décor of your room and found the location of the hotel to be ideal, and I hope that you will one day get the opportunity to visit us again here in Wellington, to experience the true spirit of Amora Hospitality.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

OK so here is the bottom line. All things considered, this is a good hotel. Convenient location close to water front, restaurants, Te Papa museum. Good size room, comfortable, views out toward harbor, nice size en suite. Comfortable bar with nice selection of wines by glass & bottle. Good restaurant. We did run into some hotel staff who were not very prompt nor very helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rvstraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Rvstraz,
I appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your stay, and am pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your time here. I was concerned to read of your experience with some of our staff members; please don't hesitate to contact me on 4733900 if you would like to discuss this further. Thanks again for your feedback, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a great stay in Wellington at the Amora. Very good customer service. Nice decor in the rooms with comfy beds. Breakfast was tasty with good selection of dishes. Check-in and Check out a quick professional experience. Would stay again. Free Wifi would be an additional customer service that in my opinion should be offered. All in all though a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Andy M,
I am delighted to read your feedback in relation to your recent stay here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, giving an account of your experience with our customer service, decor of your room and pleasing standard of breakfast. I have taken note of your comment in relation to wifi charges and will take this into consideration. I very much appreciate you taking the time to provide such a positive review of your stay, and I hope you will consider a return visit in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault our stay at the amora. we had very high expectations. It all started at check in when we were welcomed by Beths lovely smile, she then offered to take our bags up to our room, she was very help full. Every thing was perfect, understated, friendly service and efficient. The decor is beautiful. I would recommend to all and love to visit again in the future. Thank you for having us.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amandafrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear amandafrost,
It is a real pleasure to receive feedback such as yours and I will share this with my team, and in particular Beth, who I am sure will be very inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, and I hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the capital.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent two nights here in March and was delighted with the whole experience. Fabulous room on the 6th with amazing view of the Wellington harbour. Large room and lovely bathroom, and a beautifully comfortable bed. Efficient air conditioning, check in and check out. Great valet carparking, housekeeping, concierge service, simply nothing a problem. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Nelcums,
Thank you for posting such an encouraging review of your stay! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Wellington in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing