We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent location, close to Tepapa and waterfront and dining, achievable even on crutches!
Very comfortable rooms and the pillow selection results in a perfect night's sleep. Restaurant happy to cater for gluten free and small appetites. Staff very accommodating. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request city I.e. l.h.s. of building facing harbour and 3rd floor or above to get a view of harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Hilary B,
Thanks so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review of your stay! It was a pleasure to read your feedback detailing your experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, and I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    512
    172
    43
    37
See reviews for
105
515
63
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I spent the weekend here and the location is fantastic. Even though in the city it's very quiet in the rooms. The only downer is the 2 beds pushed together to make a king, very hard bump. Great breakfast and good view if you are up on a high floor. Walking distance to great pubs, restaurants & the waterfront. Love the city vibe. Otherwise that's where we'll always stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jojopopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear jojopopo,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and the superb location that we are lucky to have here at the Amora Wellington. I have taken on board your comment in relation to the bed and am in the process of addressing this issue, so will take your comment into consideration. I do appreciate your feedback and I hope that you will visit us again when you are next in Wellington.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

having stayed at this hotel on and off for more than 15 years, it is so nice to see the refurbished rooms. As we've had trouble with some of the older airco units being very noisy, we were kindly upgraded to a Club Room which is absolutely beautiful. We had cocktails in the lounge bar, staff were fantastic but they were setting up for a little function and the ambience left a little to be desired, the tiled floor area really has no ambience at all which is very unfortunate as its a lovely quiet little spot. The room service was great and food also fantastic. Check in staff went above and beyond call of duty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Oaties,
I do appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your stay. I have taken note of your comments and I thank you for your feedback, particularly in relation to the service of our staff who I am sure will be very encouraged. I do hope you get the opportunity to make a return visit in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the world
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Enjoyed a one night stay at Amora, I found the service before stay and during was exceptional. Room size nice, we were on 8th floor which has a great view of the harbour. Clean, comfy, excellent pillows and duvet, an excellent location for exploring the city.

Room Tip: 8th floor gets a good view of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzgirlontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear nzgirlontour,
Thanks so much for your very encouraging review, I very much appreciate your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room, the service of our staff, location, and cleanliness of the Amora Hotel Wellington, and I hope this experience might entice you to visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed over the Easter weekend in a deluxe king room.
Room was very spacious, well set out and comfortable. Bed was two pushed together & joined with the join very noticeable when sleeping. We mentioned this to concierge upon departure and they said that they'd had a lot of comments about this... perhaps do something about it then?
Bathroom was large and comfortable for 2 persons with separate shower & bath. A little dated but nothing that wouldn't be fixed with new tapware.
We pre-ordered valet parking as the normal car park building is currently unavailable and would recommend that this if staying with a vehicle; reasonably priced at $35NZD
We walked around Cuba St/Manners/Courtney quite comfortably from hotel (was even offered an umbrella) for dinner but chose to have buffet breakfast at hotel the following morning; Buffet was excellent with numerous offerings to suit most tastes.
Would return again & recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psyckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Psyckers,
I very much appreciate your feedback and will take your comments into consideration. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, and the location of the hotel, and I hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here as it was close to the Opera house and we were attending a show there. Had free Wifi in our package. Couldn't connect on my computer. Had to go to reception to ask why. Apparently it was my Windows firewall causing the problem. The person at reception turned this off (hardly ideal) an the connection then worked that evening. Had the same problem connecting later on but it was late and didn't want to hike back down to reception in my pyjamas. Come on - if you are going to offer Wifi it should be useable. It's not like Windows is an uncommon operating system! Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Margaret S,
Thank you for bringing your experience with wifi to our attention and I am sorry that you encountered difficulties in this area. I will have this issue attended to; however if you would like to discuss it further please don't hesitate to contact me on 04 473 3900. I do hope you will consider a return visit in the future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Amora hotel is a very decent hotel, well placed for the exploring of Wellington.

Staff are very friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and have a very nice bathroom and excellent shower facilities. A full breakfast is $30. There are cheaper alternatives close to the hotel but the breakfast is very filling and has a huge varied choice. My advice would be to have it one 1 day and make a decision whether you wish to keep paying the $30 after that.

My only criticism is the gym. Admittingly, i did not travel to New Zealand to use a gym but it take advantage of it and was extremely disappointed that 2 running machines and 2 cycles constitutes a gym........

In all, a good hotel and worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear keith m,
Thank you for taking the time to write a very encouraging review of your recent stay here with us. I am happy that you enjoyed the service of our staff, our prime location next to the Wellington waterfront and cbd, and the high standard of your room. I have taken note of your comments in relation to the gym and will take these into consideration. Thanks again for your feedback and I hope you will get the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing