We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, gorgeous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We stayed in the Duxton in Wellington during our recent trip to New Zealand and were pleasantly surprised. The service was excellent throughout the hotel, and it has an excellent restaurant. Best of all were the views from the room. We were lucky enough to have one of those fine sunny days in Wellington and we spent quite some time admiring Wellington harbour before heading out again to the waterfront to join in the fun. The rooms may be due for a renovation as the other reviews say (and apparently some rooms have been renovated and are ready as "show rooms" awaiting the big renovation), but we will be beack regardless.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 4Travelfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2008

I went to NZ by Singapore airlines and i have taken a Taxi from Airport to Hotel. I reached hotel at 1 AM and i got the Room on the 8th Floor.

Room was good and Balcony view was really great. I normally spent 15-30 satting in the balcony enjoying the sunshine in the morning.

Buffet was also good and i really enjoyed my stay at Duxton.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank deepakarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

This is an excellent hotel in central Wellington. Good views, excellent facilities. Food in the restaurant was of high standard, although relatively expensive. Good stay. Would recommend it but rather impersonal for a lengthy stay. Predictable business style hotel - no surprises

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneCotswoldCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Decor old & tried, mold growing on tiles in bathroom, TV reception fuzzy. The worst feature is that the staff do not care!
No papers delivered in morning. Request for teabags ignored (Sam the concieage) $64 for a very ordinary breakfast with undrinkage coffee which did not arrive until the end of the meal

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank World_Travellers2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Chose the Duxton as have stayed here previously over the years. In it's day it was really up there but now seems a little tired and run down. The room was adequate (view good).
Everything seemed old and worn. Tv old and a bit "snowy", chairs and table old and very marked. Bathroom was probably the best thing in the room (very opulent in it's day and somewhat timeless)..now showing a few cracks here and there. It was a bit dirty too (hairs and a soiled cotton bud on floor).

Bed was ok with a nice mohair throw and sheets were of high quality.

We like the Duxton as it has a real Hotel feel with a bit more buzz than other places (Nice bar area etc). On this visit we felt a bit weiry of staying here again and wouldn't go back unless it had a makeover/renovation. It's location however is good and it could be really brought into the 21st century and redeem it's "good, quality, luxurious reputation". Hopefully this happen as it does have a lot going for it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

I agree with all the other reviewers. The Duxton is showing it's age and is in dire need of a major renovation. Also, I don't understand why NZ hotels don't serve more fruit at breakfast. Would have been nice to have had berries and bananas. Even nicer would have been hot food that had not been sitting on the buffet for ages. Apart from the location and views of the water, I enjoyed the gym and the free washer driers (both on the ninth floor). If you have a laptop, ask for the wireless code when you check in as that will save having to get it later.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

The Duxton is about 20 years old now, and showing her age.
The public areas look fine, but the rooms are in desperate need of an overhaul. Everything worked OK, but things that let it down are the old 20" CRT televisions, noisey aircon etc. Service is good, and just a tad below my expectations of a five-star. The casual restaurant on the mezzanine was a pleasant surprise. But the real reason you'll go to the Duxton is it's across the street from the performing arts centre of the city, a block from city hall, and truly in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,910 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £97 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing