We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay; bad wi-fi on 6th floor”
Review of YHA Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My friends and I had a 4-bed private room with ensuite while we were here for 2 nights in April, and overall it was a really good experience-- we were checked in without too much fuss, and our room was clean, comfortable, and roomy. The ensuite was great too! It was also centrally located, and very close to all the major bus routes (including the Airport Express). We didn't spend much time in the common areas or the kitchen, so I can't really say anything about those, but they seemed well-kept. I liked that there were individual desks/chairs in the big common area, this is a rarity in hostels. The emphasis on recycling and being environmentally friendly was also great to see.

However, three things weren't so great-- firstly, we were on the 6th floor, and the wi-fi kept cutting out for long periods of time. Most of us had paid for a YHA membership when we checked in, so it was disappointing that one of the key benefits of the membership (free wi-fi) was proving to be not so good (we recouped the cost by the discount to the room the membership gave us, though). My friends especially were very disappointed by the bad wi-fi, and when we mentioned it to reception during check out, she said that the 6th floor was known for its bad internet, and she "forgot to tell us"... So if you're planning on using the wi-fi, try to avoid the 6th floor!

The second point is that the water pressure in the shower was awful. It didn't matter what time of day it was, the water pressure was very weak. I'm not sure though if this was just our room, so I'm willing to give it the benefit of the doubt.

Thirdly, if you're leaving your things in storage, be forewarned that the storage closet is actually a little room under the stairs and that whole area is very cramped. We left our things in storage in the morning without trouble, but when we got back in the afternoon, many more people had left their things in storage, and ours were way at the back. We had to pull everything out and juggle them in the tiny little staircase landing in order to get our things, and then put everything back. A bigger storage area and/or a more accessible one would be excellent!

Otherwise, a really good stay at the YHA!

Room Tip: If you're planning on using the wi-fi, avoid the 6th floor! (Although, the 6th floor is also ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi there Tamara,
A great big thank you for your wonderful review, you have been really objective and have made great observations, you should consider writing reviews for a living! We have some good news with regards to some of the not so great experiences as well. We are currently installing a brand new Wi-Fi system that will provide even faster speeds and strong signals on all floors. We are due to launch the new system within the next few weeks so we are really excited! The other nice bit of news is we have recently finished work on a new luggage room, it’s much more spacious, secure, and best of all it’s still free of charge to store you bags in there if you have arrived before check in time.

Thanks again for the review Tamara and happy travels!

Kieran O'Regan
Operations Manager
YHA Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here with our two children in a family room. It was clean and roomy. Other families stayed too so our children lived it. Has two huge kitchens to cook in and loads of room in huge fridges to keep your cool things in. The TV room is great for the kids. The was some noise but didn't last very long and didn't stop our children going to sleep. Would definitely stay again. Great place to stay and very reasonably priced

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICOLE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very friendly for such a big hostel. Excellent location close to the heart of the city with clean rooms and bathroom facilities. I always felt safe here as a lone female traveller. I went in the new zealand winter and the hostel was always warm. Onwards booking for South Island hostels was a breeze. The hostel had lots of tourist information.
A slight draw back for me was that I had a hire car and found the parking regulations around the hostel very confusing. I got a ticket but the hostel staff advised me on what to do and it got sorted with no hassle, and no fine!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Generalpuffball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My third stay - always excellent value. Location ideal for sightseeing, Te Papa museum (a must), waterfront, good supermarket and great fish and chips nearby! Two well-equipped kitchens, everywhere clean, and staff friendly and helpful. Definitely one of the best hostels anywhere.

Room Tip: My daughter and I had a room on 5th floor - quiet and restful, and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

4 things about this place staff were very very nice rooms were very clean and close to everything you will need to do well for me anyway and the 4th thing is don't wear a loose hat as you will have it blown off -- no lots of laugh great place to stop while in windy Wellington thanks heaps guys and girls

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank na1199dia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Clean hostel with good beds. Good kitchen facilities and clean toilets. Great location too, close to many eateries in the next street. The hostel is placed at a nice quiet corner. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Awesome location, right near lots of restaurants and bars! I stayed in a 4 dorm, nice room, lots of space for my suitcase! Really good clean bathrooms, girls had hair dryers and straighteners in them which was a good plus! Staff were friendly and helpful, and the coffee shop next to the front desk was AWESOME! one of the best coffees i had on my trip! Very good for such a cheap price!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#3 of 53 in Wellington
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#15 of 53 in Wellington
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wellington

Address: 292 Wakefield Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: £17 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultra clean, modern, bright, fun and friendly, the YHA Wellington hostel has a wide range of comfortable accommodation from our spacious 4-share ensuite dorm rooms to our deluxe private ensuite rooms. With a 5-star Qualmark rating you would hardly know you were backpacking. The hostel boasts two large and extremely well-equipped kitchens as well as many spacious and comfortable lounge areas, making this backpackers a perfect choice for large numbers of backpackers and for group accommodation. Enjoy 2GB free WiFi per day, our onsite espresso bar, the stellar view from our 6th floor laundry (yes, really!), and our amazing location right by the harbour in the CBD. Our friendly staff are on hand to assist and can let you know top travel tips, the best places to park, and help with any travel or activity bookings free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your YHA Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wellington City Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing