We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Capital View Motor Inn was in a very good location. Handy for Cuba st and walking distance to most if not all of the city attractions. The place is clean but tired. Off street parking is a big plus as not many places offer this. We had 2 nights here and enjoyed our stay. If you are after 4 or 5 star don't stay here as I would class it as a 3 star at most. The cost is a representation of the value you get here. The room was big but shower was tiny. I would probably stay here again in saying all of this though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    152
    48
    13
    6
See reviews for
94
157
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for two nights. The location is excellent near the top of Cuba Street so it really is a walk into Wellington (20 minutes to Te Papa) - and it has car parking. The only room available was bigger than we needed with a king bed and two singles but at a reasonable cost so we didn't mind. It even had a good view over the city. The room was large and included a table and chairs, sofa and a kitchenette. The shower room was contemporary. Everything was immaculately clean. There was a guest laundry with washer and dryer. It was quiet both nights. The owner on reception was friendly and helpful and we met the cleaner one day when we dropped back to pick something up and she was also friendly. The motel does not look much from the outside (a high rise block) but it truly is a perfect place to stay for exploring Wellington city centre and going out to Mount Cook view point and the Marine Drive (we found paua shells in the shallows and beaches on Marine Drive).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This hotel is well located in the heart of Wellington. The public areas of the hotel are quite tired. The rooms are clean enough and have the basics in the kitchenette. The bed was totally worn out and very uncomfortable, resulting in back pain during the day (which we don't usually suffer from). Offstreet parking is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was our family's third time staying at the Capital View Motor Inn. The first was in 2005 and again in 2010. Mark is just a great host and goes out of his way to be helpful. Our family of four stayed for two nights, when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to the penthouse on the 6th floor, so that was great. Panoramic views over Wellington, spacious rooms, efficient room service and clean. Most rooms have spacious, fully equipped kitchens so self catering would be no problem here. This hotel is handy for Cuba Street, yet it is quiet and relaxing. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing north or east towards the city and the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bridget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Not overly attractive from the outside, BUT located near Cuba Street, free parking, free WiFi, clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable price for a city hotel. The service was friendly and efficient. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Really good location close to centre of the city. Mark, the boss very helpful and good sense of humour. Room well equipped, spacious, clean and quiet for a city location. Ferry terminal easy 20 minutes from the hotel. No hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had one overlooking the city which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haslingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and found the motor inn to be in a quiet and convenient location, within walking distance (10 mins) of a good range of restaurants. We walked to the city centre and other attractions from here so a motor vehicle is not essential if staying here, although car parking is available.
The unit although not new was clean and comfortable and the kitchenette very handy. Breakfast is not provided so we were able to prepare our own. The unit was bright and airy with a good view towards the harbour. There was no air-conditioning, but this is probably not essential in Wellington. There were dual aspect windows which opened allowing plenty of fresh air ventilation. The complementary internet was useful.
We were greeted cheerfully at checkin which was swift and trouble free.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#10 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Property: Capital View Motor Inn
Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing