We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capital View Motor Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marksman Motor Inn(Wellington)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Puni Village(Wellington)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Trinity Hotel(Wellington)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
110
163
50
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
163
50
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff street parkingcuba stgreat locationfirst floorserviced dailyclose to city centrespacious roomthe ground floorplace to stayminute walkte papa museumwellington citycorner rooman easy walkone bedroom apartmentferry terminalnew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had 3 nights in this hotel at the end of a 10 day trip around north island. Had booked a queen studio room as it was all that was available at the time, however by this stage of our trip we were feeling the need for some space (couple with an older child) and so we took the penthouse suite at the top of the building. It cost extra but we were very glad we did. The suite was luxuriously spacious with a separate master bedroom and two single beds in a large living room. kitchen was well equipped, everything very clean and in good condition. The hotel was receiving a facelift on outside so was covered in external scaffolding for workers, which may have been difficult for rooms on other floors, but for us was not a problem as we were above it all, literally. The best thing was the fantastic view of wellington, 360 degree view from the windows al around the suite and an outdoor area surrounding the room. Loved it! A bit windy, as Wellington is famous for, but we were so comfy up there. Very little street noise as well.
The hotel is brilliantly placed, with Cuba street cafes and interesting shops, Te Papa museum and waterfront areas, all within a pleasant walk, and 20 minutes drive from the airport.
mark, the manager, was pleasant and helpful and the other staff we met there (especially the woman who cleaned our room) was exceptionally friendly and warm.
We felt sad to leave Wellington after such a lovely stay.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Neece2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

3 night stay mid-March 2nd floor (requested higher but not available. Located in Bohemian section close to Cuba street; so access to a wide range of types of restaurants & shops. 15 -20 minute walk to harbor.

Furnishings outdated & a bit worn looking, making the place feel a bit less clean than otherwise.. Requested king-only bed but found 1 queen & two singles. Room layout for sitting chairs & eating table were awkwardly laid out. There was a full kitchenette, which looked out onto the street below. Lighing was decent.

Bathroom was small w/little storage space for personal items, small sink & close quarters to toilet. Stall shower was very tight w/low headroom (not a good fit for tall folks).


Some street noise

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Wellington is expensive and finding a place with parking is impossible. So Captial View has a couple of bonuses. A group of 4 friends we had a family unit which was clean with everything we required. The building is old but the rooms seem to have been renovated recently.

We arrived on Easter weekend which meant the lift only worked certain hours which was a pain with heavy suitcases. Reception wasn't hugely welcoming but it is reasonably priced and well located just off Cuba Street,

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during a trip around the North Island. It was covered in scaffolding when we arrived but the owner had kindly moved us into a bigger room at no extra charge to compensate for this, which allowed us to have access to two great views. The kitchenette facilities were great and the bed comfortable. Off street parking was very handy and Cuba street is in easy reach, with Te Papa museum within 25 minutes walk.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EmVicWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Capital View Motor Inn was in a very good location. Handy for Cuba st and walking distance to most if not all of the city attractions. The place is clean but tired. Off street parking is a big plus as not many places offer this. We had 2 nights here and enjoyed our stay. If you are after 4 or 5 star don't stay here as I would class it as a 3 star at most. The cost is a representation of the value you get here. The room was big but shower was tiny. I would probably stay here again in saying all of this though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews