We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were on the 5th (top) floor and indeed it had a capital view of the capital. The room (an upgrade) was very spacious and well-equipped and there was parking for the car. The owner/manager, Mark, was very welcoming and helpful, and Cuba Street (the main restaurant area) was about 5 minutes walk away. I thought this was all fine but my wife did not like the area because of the graffiti, the street noise (human rather then traffic), and (as a previous reviewer noted) the somewhat Bohemian character of the neighbourhood. I think it was just a little culture shock being in an urban environment after the bucolic South Island. This is a well run, good place to stay in a central location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    153
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
95
159
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights in this hotel at the end of a 10 day trip around north island. Had booked a queen studio room as it was all that was available at the time, however by this stage of our trip we were feeling the need for some space (couple with an older child) and so we took the penthouse suite at the top of the building. It cost extra but we were very glad we did. The suite was luxuriously spacious with a separate master bedroom and two single beds in a large living room. kitchen was well equipped, everything very clean and in good condition. The hotel was receiving a facelift on outside so was covered in external scaffolding for workers, which may have been difficult for rooms on other floors, but for us was not a problem as we were above it all, literally. The best thing was the fantastic view of wellington, 360 degree view from the windows al around the suite and an outdoor area surrounding the room. Loved it! A bit windy, as Wellington is famous for, but we were so comfy up there. Very little street noise as well.
The hotel is brilliantly placed, with Cuba street cafes and interesting shops, Te Papa museum and waterfront areas, all within a pleasant walk, and 20 minutes drive from the airport.
mark, the manager, was pleasant and helpful and the other staff we met there (especially the woman who cleaned our room) was exceptionally friendly and warm.
We felt sad to leave Wellington after such a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Neece2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

3 night stay mid-March 2nd floor (requested higher but not available. Located in Bohemian section close to Cuba street; so access to a wide range of types of restaurants & shops. 15 -20 minute walk to harbor.

Furnishings outdated & a bit worn looking, making the place feel a bit less clean than otherwise.. Requested king-only bed but found 1 queen & two singles. Room layout for sitting chairs & eating table were awkwardly laid out. There was a full kitchenette, which looked out onto the street below. Lighing was decent.

Bathroom was small w/little storage space for personal items, small sink & close quarters to toilet. Stall shower was very tight w/low headroom (not a good fit for tall folks).


Some street noise

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Wellington is expensive and finding a place with parking is impossible. So Captial View has a couple of bonuses. A group of 4 friends we had a family unit which was clean with everything we required. The building is old but the rooms seem to have been renovated recently.

We arrived on Easter weekend which meant the lift only worked certain hours which was a pain with heavy suitcases. Reception wasn't hugely welcoming but it is reasonably priced and well located just off Cuba Street,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during a trip around the North Island. It was covered in scaffolding when we arrived but the owner had kindly moved us into a bigger room at no extra charge to compensate for this, which allowed us to have access to two great views. The kitchenette facilities were great and the bed comfortable. Off street parking was very handy and Cuba street is in easy reach, with Te Papa museum within 25 minutes walk.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmVicWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Capital View Motor Inn was in a very good location. Handy for Cuba st and walking distance to most if not all of the city attractions. The place is clean but tired. Off street parking is a big plus as not many places offer this. We had 2 nights here and enjoyed our stay. If you are after 4 or 5 star don't stay here as I would class it as a 3 star at most. The cost is a representation of the value you get here. The room was big but shower was tiny. I would probably stay here again in saying all of this though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for two nights. The location is excellent near the top of Cuba Street so it really is a walk into Wellington (20 minutes to Te Papa) - and it has car parking. The only room available was bigger than we needed with a king bed and two singles but at a reasonable cost so we didn't mind. It even had a good view over the city. The room was large and included a table and chairs, sofa and a kitchenette. The shower room was contemporary. Everything was immaculately clean. There was a guest laundry with washer and dryer. It was quiet both nights. The owner on reception was friendly and helpful and we met the cleaner one day when we dropped back to pick something up and she was also friendly. The motel does not look much from the outside (a high rise block) but it truly is a perfect place to stay for exploring Wellington city centre and going out to Mount Cook view point and the Marine Drive (we found paua shells in the shallows and beaches on Marine Drive).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wellington
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#9 of 46 in Wellington
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#43 of 46 in Wellington
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
88 Wallace Court
88 Wallace Court
#36 of 46 in Wellington
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Property: Capital View Motor Inn
Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing