We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital View Hotel, Wellington - Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at the Capital View Hotel in Wellington because of it's location. It's located within walking distance to the shops and restaurants on Cuba Street and an easy drive to the ferry docks where we had to drop off our rental car to board the InterIslander ferry to Picton the next day. The check in process was easy and the manager was efficient and friendly. The studio king room was spacious and well appointed and the city view was fantastic! The bathroom was spacious and well appointed including a heated towel rack! The roof top parking was very convenient. We walked to Cuba Street and had dinner at a tapas style restaurant called "Ombra". It was bustling with many locals and tourists so we counted ourselves lucky to get a table. The food and service was great! After dinner we walked the length of Cuba Street and checked out the stores, restaurants and bars. It's an eclectic mix of funky dress styles and the young vibe gives it a great atmosphere for strolling. The next day we dropped off our car and boarded the ferry and we wished we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We had a top level room - very quiet and the view was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Let me start by saying that our terrible experience was primarily because our above neighbors brought at least a dozen people into their room and were having a party that could be heard from the street from the time we arrived at about 6PM until 2AM when we finally called hotel management and they called the police. After the police came they quieted down until about 6AM and then started again, when we promptly decided to leave the hotel after getting no sleep. As for the hotel itself, it needed updating, the rooms had some surface makeovers but we weren’t fooled. The elevator was barely functional and closes for service at 9:30PM, which made it very challenging for me since I was on crutches. This was a great location and would probably be suitable for college students traveling in a group, but not for couples or families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here the night before we took the Inter-island Ferry to Picton. It was a very short drive to the ferry from the motel. When we arrived it was too early to check-in, but the receptionist said we could leave our car in the lot. He gave us a map and showed us how to find Cuba Street, where all the restaurants and cafés are located and the I-Site. Both were an easy walk if it were not for the wind which did not let up until after midnight. We ended up walking to and riding the cable car, visiting the Tram Way Museum and Te Papa, the Natural History Museum. When we returned to the motel we offered milk to take to our room for tea or coffee, which seems to be the standard practice at New Zealand motels. Our room was actually good size with a separate kitchen area including, a microwave, sink, two cooking "hobs" and cooking utensils. The room seemed dated and the bathroom had a hint of a mildew smell. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We arrived after a long flight from Perth WA & were exhausted after missing a night's sleep.

The hotel/motel is rather old fashioned but comfortable and most importantly, very quiet so we got a great night's sleep. The bathroom is however very small with a plastic shower curtain which is sucked in whilst showering (a personal hate).

It could certainly do with a bit of an upgrade in terms of decor but it was fine for a night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie-holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We drove down to Wellington and needed a hotel with free parking in a good location. This was ideal. Very easy to get on and off the motor way and just minutes from Te Papa and the waterfront (by car). Cuba Street was just a block away with all the Wellington life/food/music. I was recovering from surgery and on one crutch so could not bound about like usual, but this was a perfect location. Our room seened newly renovated, spacious, immaculate and well appointed. Warm, fully equipped kitchenette, great bathroom. Friendly and helpful front desk. Great price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank booandberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our 18 year old daughter and had a room with a separate bedroom for her and we had the queen bed in the lounge area. The room was clean, had a spacious kitchen with everything you needed and was in a perfect location, being just around the corner from Cuba Street. There was free parking which was off the road and the motel was quiet. The Manager was kind and helpful and friendly. To be honest, we could say that the bathrooms were a bit tired and the furniture a bit dated, BUT, if you put that aside all the positive things, not least of which being really good value for money, then you cant go wrong really.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was quiet and had great views. our room number was 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleS1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is well located as base camp to discover the city.Walking distance to Cuba st and plenty of bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious with great views, but could do with a bit of renovation. Free parking and basically very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#31 of 47 in Wellington
150 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#22 of 47 in Wellington
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#30 of 47 in Wellington
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £63 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing