We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Enjoyed watching the views of Wellington from the large windows at night. Towels in bath room were some of the best we have come across while staying at motels. Clean and well serviced, the layout of a double bed in one room and 2 singles in the living room meet our requirements nicely . The original reason for selecting Capital View was because of it's on site parking and this worked out well as did it's location. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatLessLiveMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Capital View Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is the 2nd time my family and I have stayed here. The rooms are a little dated but there is plenty of natural light, making the rooms light and bright. It is clean and serviced daily. The host is welcoming and the location is good, because we walked everywhere! Being right in town is excellent. My 2 daughters got stuck in the lifts for a short time, but this just added to their experiences! We all had a little chuckle when we left. We think it's a great place for families too.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank valiantranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Perfect choice for everyone who's looking for a simple, affordable and nice hotel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and tidy. + it has free off-street parking which gives a great advantage over other hotels in central Welly!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Easy to drive to from the ferry terminal or to out of town north, and a great location for seeing the city on foot. Off street parking was adequate. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The room was pleasant and clean, zero problems. Cuba Street, with many different restaurants and shops, was just a block away. A very nice walk to the waterfront. Would easily stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family of 3 enjoyed an 8 night stay in a 1 bedroom apartment. Our room, although a little dated, was spotless and very functional. The hotel is well located for a walk into Cuba St and the CBD or freeway access out of town. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Onsite parking was always easy.

Room Tip: Room 37 is on the 5th floor with lovely views across the city.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We checked in on New Years' Eve at around 6pm, and the owner was very friendly and gave us some good tips about eating and drinking out that evening, since Wellington is a bit of a sleepy capital city. The wi-fi actually worked, was decently fast, and the allocation was generous for a New Zealand motel (200MB each). Amongst other useful items, the kitchen contained two wine glasses, which was very helpful for our NYE celebrations! Even from the second floor, we had a great view out over the city, which would have been even better if the Wellington council hadn't cancelled their fireworks display. The bed was perfectly comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. TV was fairly large and I think we had Sky. The layout of the motel is a little bizarre and the first (ground) floor, including the lift, is closed off between 9.30pm and 8.30am, so we needed to carry our suitcases down a flight of stairs when we left early the next morning. It's a 15-minute walk into town, or the nearest airport bus stop, and just 10 minutes' walk to Cuba Street (a great little strip with lots of decent restaurants). There is a fantastic kid's playground just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view: Webb Street is not very noisy at all and the windows are well-insulated, so you...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for one night in a studio unit which was very spacious, very clean and in a perfect location. It is only a 5 minute walk to Cuba Street which has a huge choice of restaurants, cafes and bars. Safe on site parking in the centre of Wellington is a bonus. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,706 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wellington
142 reviews
1.0 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing