We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to trendy Cuba Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Close to Cuba Street eateries and entertainment. Older style but clean and wonderful hosts. Comfy beds, lovely views over the city. Off street parking available as well. Close to motorway, ferries and airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_choccie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Very clean with a decent iron & ironing board for businessman. . Well done.. this is very rare.

Rooms are large. Free parking, easy walk to Cuba St & Hell Cuba..

Hosts were very friendly. This motel will be my regular in Wellington

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We read reviews carefully when booking and booked here seeing all the glowing reviews and description. Rather than opt for the standard room we elected for the superior one bedroom apartment which boasted a separate lounge, kitchen and modern furnishings. The additional sale point was proximity to Cuba Street and free parking and noted that the building despite being described as an older building was being renovated.

So there were many good points supporting the reviews previously posted, Mark was indeed friendly and welcoming and despite an old building the repaint and refresh looked excellent. The parking was excellent and easy to access. The room was bright, light, renovated and clean.

Our room was on the first floor and right next to the lift and after hours the ground floor was locked off requiring all residents in higher floors to enter via the first floor and use the lift. The lift is noisy and the floor outside the door tiled and echoes into the room. The main room of the apartment had a kingsize bed and one tub chair and the bedroom two single beds. There was no place to sit (no lounge).

I raised this discrepancy with Mark given that our booking clearly stated a lounge! Mark to his credit indicated that he was not aware of the room being described as such and was surprised, that he would have the Bookings.com description changed. He allowed us to view other rooms on other floors but all were needing refurbishment and tired. All had bedding combinations which resulted in there being no lounge area so had no advantage. So we decided that we had little option but to accept the original room. We pushed the king sized bed over to the wall to create more floor space, asked to use an additional chair from the outside hallway and created a mini lounge so that we could have a seating area. It all ended up quite good and we decided to use the two single beds in the bedroom rather than sleep in the king bed in the main room. A good decision.

We did notice that people coming and going did cause noise and this was heard within the room and would have been a significant issue had we slept in the main room (king bed), even sleeping in the bedroom we found that the noise carried late at night and early in the morning - those heels ladies......... they love to clunk on tiles :-) It wasn't that the residents were noisy but any activity outside could be heard. Further the door fails to lock unless pulled tight and on our first day we returned late afternoon to find that the door was not locked and could have been entered by anyone. I left a note for the housekeeping the next day and it was fine - we lock our hardshell cases and generally take all our valuables with us but it was a concern.

Guess we were looking for a one bedroom apartment with a lounge area and this didn't quite fit the need or the booking description so were we to visit Wellington again it would be a factor to consider.

If you were not looking for this then it would be fine for a short stay as the overall location was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicknSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Room is super comfy, spacious, clean with everything you need if you want to cook some dinner. Great location. Great soft bedding, nice hot showers with freebies, great views. Wonderful hospitality. Would love to return...bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

While we were visiting, the hotel was undergoing renovation, so the outside of the building looked, not so pleasant. It is an uphill drive, if you have a car along - but can accommodate a decent parking for upto 20-25 cars.

The staff is courteous and friendly and the hotel is clean and hygienic.

This was our first bump into an owner run hotel in NZ - which is apparently very common. In such set ups, the owners lock up the hotel and proceed towards the closure of the day, allowing the guests to access entry and exit at odd hours via a separate entrance. Our hitch - we had to leave early on the check out day to catch a ferry onwards South island, and hence had to drag our bags down one floor; as the elevator access was allowed only upto the first floor during closed hours!!

The location of the hotel is very prime and a horde of restaurants and night clubs; all in walk able distance. a couple of good tourist attractions within 10 -15 mins of drive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShineInfinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this place and found it very comfortable. Mark, the very friendly and helpful fellow at the desk, quickly helped us to get oriented to the area and provided a good map indicating to us where is the nearest grocery store, sights to see, gas station and route to the ferry. We had a studio apartment which had a queen and single bed and well equipped kitchen. We appreciated having free WiFi ( 200 MB) and the laundry facilities within the hotel. The location is excellent, very close to Cuba Street and we walked everywhere including Te Papa museum, the cable car and botanical garden, Parliament and many more places. Others have pointed out that the hotel is a bit dated and while this is true, we found that everything was clean and well maintained. There is an elevator and free secure on-site parking. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Mark was very friendly and helpful and even took the time to engage with the children travelling with us. The room was clean and tidy with a spacious modern bathroom, including generous sized shower. Will certainly stay here again when in Wellington.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 47 in Wellington
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#22 of 47 in Wellington
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#10 of 47 in Wellington
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing