We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and right in the center of things” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityLife Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Comfortable and right in the center of things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We shared a two-bedroom here. The room itself was comfortable and well-laid out with the two bedrooms on opposite sides of the apartment. The location was fantastic because it was right in the middle of everything. However, that location also makes parking very difficult, and the hotel's parking is not cheap. I thought the price was a little on the high end when assessing value for your money. But overall, I thought the hotel was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear ricedish,

Thanks for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for any inconvenience caused to with the driving access to the hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    354
    109
    29
    6
See reviews for
287
221
27
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I spent many weeks at the CityLife on business throughout 2013. It is a great place to stay, well laid out and spec'd. Staff are great, the location to the CBD and waterfront makes it an ideal place. I would recommend the CityLife to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the hotel, away from Lamberton Quay, are quieter however, the fact that the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Stewart S

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We appreciate your loyalty towards CityLife Wellington and look forward to welcome you in the New Year!

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I booked a one bedroom apartment but got upgraded to a two bedroom one which was great. Having a full kitchen was very much appreciated. Bedrooms tastefully decorated. One bathroom with shower, the other with bath. Staff friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Terry_Academic,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious suites and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We recently stayed in a 2 bdrm apartment for 3 nights. The apartment comprised two good size bedrooms, one and a half bathrooms, kichen, dining and living space - all spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel is well located and within walking distance of many of the bars, cafes and areas of interest within central Wellington. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative was noise (possibly streetcleaning vehicles) in the early hours of the morning heard from the front/streetside bedroom. Apart from that, it was a great stay and for $199.00 per night + $15.50 parking per night, I thought it represented good value. Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank albert411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear albert411

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious suites on your recent visit. I will share your kind words with the team.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed with friends in the Executive two bedroom suite. The room was spacious and comfortable. the kitchen was well stocked and very functional. It was always great to have an in room laundry!! These rooms are extremely quiet.

Hotel staff were pleasant, frinedly and helpful.

Great location. We highly recommend this hotel.

Our only suggestion for improvement was that the air conditioning unit was not strong enough for the suite and so the bedrooms tended to get hot - could be an issue for the height of summer.

Otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: For privacy and comfort - choose on of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mere A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mere A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Booked this hotel due to the proximity and size of the suite. We needed a suite this time because we were travelling with family and wanted the extra space. We have always stayed at the Bolton Hotel and Intercontinental and was very pleasantly surprised. The location to shopping, fabulous cafes, harbour and sightseeing was so convenient. The shops are just outside the Hotel and a few steps from the famous Cable Car Tourist attraction.

Highly recommend the Crab Shack, Verve Café and Smiths Grocery Café within a short walking distance from the Hotel.

The staff at the hotel were so obliging and I personally believe the nicest group of Receptionists I have ever come across. They are an asset to the CityLife Hotel. I would like to say a big thankyou to Christine who was so helpful and obliging.

All in all I think this is a perfect place to stay and if you can get a package deal in a two bedroom suite (with a kitchen)... its a great destination whilst staying in Wellington.

Room Tip: Cable Car, Tepapa Museum, Bank Building with Smiths Grocery Café, Crab Shack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lez_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear lez_lee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at CityLife Wellington. It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your kind words with the team especially Christine who provided exceptional service on your stay.

We look forward to hosting to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had a family weekend city break here and the location was perfect. the two bedroom unit was spacious and very comfortable. The only downside was the parents room was on the main road side of the unit and the room must have very minimal sound proofing as we were woken from 2am and had a very broken night sleep, lucky the kids had an internal room and slept right through!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Theresa C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you with the noise you experienced during your stay with us. However, I am pleased that you found the suite comfortable and spacious for your family.

We look forward to hosting your family on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing