We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good allrounder hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good allrounder hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Have stayed on 2 occasions at the Ibis and have never been disappointed.
Good location, it's very near to the airport bus ($9 one way), shops and the wharf.
Although the hotel is compact, it has everything that you need, hairdryer, kettle, flat panel tv, iron etc all for a reasonable price.
Wifi is only available in the lobby for 30 mins once a day otherwise you have to pay if you want it in your room.
Shower is a tad small, I'm ok with this as I am small in size, but do feel for others.

Thanks Ibis for another great weekend stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us at ibis Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    985
    468
    103
    41
See reviews for
375
802
221
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very helpful staff. Great Price for the central location. Have stayed here before and will stay here again. The twin room with 2 double beds made it great for 2 adults and 1 child. The availability of parking made it very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your 5 out of 5 rating for ibis Wellington following your time with us ! We are very pleased you experienced the level of service we strive to achieve on a consistent basis. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had to phone housekeeping at 4pm and request our room be serviced (with fresh towels, tea/coffee milk, handsoap etc). Although they eventually came, we were initially fobbed off with "we're extremely busy" which was unacceptable to us. Some TV stations weren't working either and when we queried this, we were told "it's just happened" but we weren't given any info as to when it might be fixed, and it hadn't been by the time we checked out (3 days, 2 nights later). The fact there was no toilet brush or hand towels may seem trivial to some, but when it's a room with 2 double beds it should be a given that they be provided. The lack of enthusiasm from staff when we checked out, confirmed the overall experience as being cold, insensitive and unappealing. The hotel itself is in a great location and very handy to many attractions, however the service leaves a lot to be desired. I don't think we'll be in a rush to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We agree, it's not acceptable that you should have to wait until late afternoon for your room to be serviced. We clearly got it wrong that day, and we are sorry. Yes, we lost coverage of one TV channel for 3 days. Our team were working hard behind the scenes to have the situation resolved, but the delay you experienced is disappointing -we appreciate your frustration and accept we must strive to provide consistently great service. We certainly missed some key points during your stay and we are sincerely sorry for this. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

An affordable hotel in a good location close to the water front and shopping district, the rooms are clean and basic. However there are a few things to be aware of. If you intend on parking at the hotel then I would suggest looking for an alternative, the day we arrived it was pouring with rain and there is no parking available for guests checking in, once getting to reception I was advised that there was no parking available at all at the hotel and my alternatives were nearby meter parking or a commercial parking garage. None of which were hotel guest friendly. The bathrooms whilst clean have no water pressure and there is no where in the room to store valuables which was a concern as the welcome greeting on the TV was for another guest (I hope he had returned his room key card). I would only recommend this hotel if you are after somewhere cheap and cheerful without parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidays196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We were sorry to read that the name on the TV was not your name. It's important we get that detail correct and show that we genuienly do care. We are sorry the water pressure was low in your room at this time you stayed. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing