We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, comfotable room!”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 8 June 2014

First time staying at the Ibis Wellington and very pleased with the experience. Got in quite late at night and were greeted with a smile and in our room within 5 minutes. Rooms were a good size, clean and tidy. Location wise, very close to Lambton Quay and Kirks so it's easy to get food and go shopping. Food in the lobby is also quite good. Bottom line would absolutely stay here again, the only thing that would make this better is free wifi in rooms!

TIP: book your green cab from the reception to get a $25 flat rate to the airport!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melodymodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. It's always nice to read comments such as 'great staff' and to know that you were greeted with a smile. Thank you for sharing this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights enjoyed the central location, close walking distance to Te Papa, Parliment and other points of interest. Parking was available at the hotel with plenty of choiced asround using public transport. The room wasn't large but had everything you need including the comfortable bed. Made use of the restaurant one evening enjoying the selection of food. Was disappointed with cheeseboard having a selection of cheeses with only two cracker's a bit stingy. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cheese board. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the selection of food on offer at Vivant Restaurant & Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here two nights over Easter. A good economical place to stay in downtown Wellington and close to public transport. We checked in late one night. On entering the apartment, I noticed the room faced a concrete courtyard which made me feel claustrophobic. I stayed the night in the room, but thought I'd ask if I could change to a room with a more light airy street view the next night. Without hesitation, reception staff kindly obliged. The room we were given was fairly roomy, clean and much lighter overlooking Featherstone Street. We ate at the restaurant at the Ibis and thought it was good value for money. But having said that, there were umpteen other places to eat out even over Easter. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Blueridge Ferry terminal.

If you don't need to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, this is a good enough place to stay without paying through the nose. If you want something more upmarket, I suggest staying at the luxury hotels dotted around the city centre.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms facing concrete courtyard (even numbered rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed a nice Easter break in Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dipak C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Omarr D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the second time that my wife and I have stayed overnight in the Ibis and were pleased to note that it still provided the same level of service. Once again the reception staff were very good and we were able to access our room before the normal check in time.

Our room was on the 4th floor and was well presented with all the normal facilities.

On our day of departure we were able to store our luggage until late in the afternoon which was very good as we were attending a function and thereby removed any need to take it with us.

A nice hotel with very helpful staff which made our stay enjoyable and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Wayne12367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us at ibis Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I decided to stay at Ibis as the reputation and as I had stayed in Ibis Auckland before. The Auckland one was a good one. However, this time I wanted to try Ibis wellington but 2 things i didnot like during my stay. The booking said Sky TV and WiFi. However, Tv only had one Sky channel and WIfi was not available in the room but you had to pay for it, unless you go downstairs and sit in the lobby for free wireless. What is the point of having WIFI if you have to walk to the lobby and sit there to do your work on the computer. I found that very discomforting and annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank akh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your thoughts, as your comments will help us while we review our WiFi offering. You are correct; WiFi is available in the accommodation rooms, but there is currently a cost associated with this. Thank you for highlighting your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 47 in Wellington
2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £60 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing