We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I thought the room was very small, for me personally it wasn't some where I would recommend. This was my free night, there was no mention of free wifi, I wasn't made to feel special and because I never booked a carpark when I booked online I had to park on the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and scores following your recent stay. We were sorry to read that you were not made to feel special. We are disappointed to have let you down in this regard. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    993
    472
    104
    43
See reviews for
378
815
224
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

It is not a fancy hotel but met our needs as a family of five. We had no problems checking in. As a family of five we had to book two rooms and we were fortunate to be able to get two rooms side by side. There is no connecting door within the room to the other room and that is the only inconvenience. Being a hotel in the city, it is not known for its spaciousness but I am quite alright as I do not feel overly cramped. If you have kids who want to run around the room, then this is not the hotel. If you have someone with a wheelchair, manoevering around the room can be a challenge. You are warned. Bathrooms are functional and by that I mean a shower cubicle, sink with not much sink space to put your toiletry bags and a toilet bowl. Bring your own toothbrush as only the soap and shampoo is provided. Other than that, the rooms are well-equipped with a kettle, fridge, coffee, tea, sugar, hot choc, tv. Pillows are too soft for me but that is individual preference. Front desk personnel are helpful and friendly. Wifi is free if you are in the lobby for thirty minutes each time you log in. If you want a longer period of wifi then you will have to pay. I like the location because I can walk opposite to Langham Road to get to the the shopping street and to the cable car that leads one to the Botanic Gardens. To get to the restaurants, walk behind the hotel and you will see the wharf. The restaurants at the Wharf are worth a try. This hotel is also easy to get to and from the airport if you are driving . The only bummer is the difficulty in getting a carpark slot along the streets. Parking within the hotel is available but we were not willing to pay for it. Just be very careful where you park along the street. Different slots have different time rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

When you stay here, remember where you're staying - it's a four star (at best) hotel in possibly one of the best locations in Wellington. It's very simple, very bland but very good for the price.

If you're looking for a romantic getaway with all the luxury and glamour of the Ritz then don't stay here. But if you're looking for somewhere to sleep that is central to some beautiful restaurants and wine bars along the water and walking distance to some great shopping and the cable car then why would you bother staying anywhere else?

We paid a great rate including breakfast (less than $100AU a night for two) when we visited in June, and I couldn't have been happier. The room was spotless as was the bathroom, the service was great, breakfast was plentiful and there was ALWAYS a taxi out the front of the hotel if you needed to get anywhere.

The toiletries offered are pretty average, so pack a shower cap and some decent shampoo and conditioner (remember - this is the Ibis, not the Hilton!). The room we had was prone to really average water pressure in the shower, but that's really the only disappointing aspect (and the check out survey allowed me to identify that issue so it could be rectified for the next guest). Also, the shower is TINY.

The hotel offers a 24 hour kitchen, but not room service, so if you don't mind wandering down to reception at 2am for a cheeseburger then it's great. It's also surprisingly good quality and quantity for room service food.

There is no safe in the room, and the hallways DO feel a little like a youth hostel. It's a 'no frills' hotel, but you are not paying for frills, so don't expect them.

We had free internet access, but I believe you can also buy it. I found their wifi reliable and fast.

For a relatively inexpensive hotel, the bed was amazing. Extra pillows hidden in the cupboard will no doubt be needed though. The TV had good reception and the mini fridge was handy for water. The iron and ironing board in the room was really handy. Note: the hotel doesn't offer water or mini bar items or anything like that in the room, so come prepared.

The buffet breakfast was decent. Good range of hot and cold food, lots of cereals and fruits, teas, coffees, juices and pastry items. If anything ran out they were super quick to replace it.

All in all, there was nothing fancy about this place, but it was excellent value for money, in an excellent location and offered excellent service. It's the perfect place to stay if you plan to do a lot of sightseeing and don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. You certainly touched on the key aspects of what we are committed to providing at ibis: excellent value for money, in an excellent location with excellent service. Thank you for that summary and the 5 out of 5 rating you gave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently travelled to Wellington at short notice due to a family bereavement. We stayed at the Ibis. We arrived on an early flight and went straight to the hotel to try and change our booking to include one more person. We had been advised when booking by phone that check in was at 2.00pm.The staff were very obliging and offered an immediate check in which was very convenient.

The Ibis is close to very good shops, parliament, cable car and easy walking distance to Wellington's other main attractions.

Every aspect of our stay was very acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We were very sorry to read of your bereavement and we wish you all the best at this time. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Checked in for 2 night. Anyone who have business trip to wellington this is your destination. Easy access to government departments and business district. Affordable price, clean rooms. Ask for your room to be away from the laundry room as it is noisy especially at elthe evenings.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KimoBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate your effort to highlight our location, close to the government and business precincts of the city. If there is ever any issue with noise from the guest laundry, our team are on hand 24 hours to assist and ensure noise is at an appropriate level. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and got a super cheap rate. It really is true that you get what you pay for and in this case it wasn't too bad.

The room was good enough for the crash pad we used it as. I'm certain a more expensive room would've been more spacious and in a better location within the hotel.

The room was 'snug' with a double bed - not uncomfortable, which was a relief. Tea/coffee was more than adequate. Also supplied extra bedding/pillows/ironing board etc. TV didn't have lots of channels, but enough to zone out before bed!

Bathroom was adequate with toiletries supplied and instant hot water. The only problem being that it wasn't as thoroughly cleaned as it could've been.

Location is key with this hotel. It's in a really good spot in Wgn, easy access to all the shops, water front etc and that's it's biggest selling point.

The biggest bug bear was that our room was located to the rear of the hotel and we were awoken by some prolonged loud banging early on Saturday morning. It was from an adjacent building, so not the fault of the hotel, but you may want to request a room to the side or front to avoid this.

You also have to pay extra for internet, but we didn't bother, so not sure of that cost.

I would stay here again for a weekend jaunt, but any longer and it might be worth spending extra for a bigger room, better view etc and would recommend it to others on that basis.

Room Tip: Request a room not at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We appreciate your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing