We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    1,009
    485
    105
    44
See reviews for
383
825
229
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The occasion was a school centenary. We had asked to have my party accommodated on the same floor - some were there but others were given rooms on other floors. The room was good. No view despite being the first to book, but not a problem for me and it was quiet, the bed comfortable, controllable air conditioning plus fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, and a radio I could tune to the Concert Programme. The promised lounge area to meet friends turned out to be very small, just inside the entrance. Reserved tables for a meal and breakfasts were forgotten but staff were quickly on the ball placing signs on them when reminded. Staff were always very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments regarding your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We walked all over Wellington from the Ibis- perfect location. I booked this hotel as a stopover for my move to New Zealand, and had six large pieces of luggage with me- hotel staff was extremely nice and allowed me to check in an hour early, when I had been dropped off by an airport shuttle. They also allowed me to store all six of the bags for an hour after check out while we secured transportation out of Wellington. (And they never once rolled their eyes at me as I scooted a large box and five duffels down the hallway) That being said, the room was on the small side and located down a narrow hallway; and, be sure to draw the curtains if you are on the first or second floor because you have a straight line of sight into the buildings directly across and opposite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope your move has been as stress-free as possible and you're happy in your new location. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I thought the room was very small, for me personally it wasn't some where I would recommend. This was my free night, there was no mention of free wifi, I wasn't made to feel special and because I never booked a carpark when I booked online I had to park on the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and scores following your recent stay. We were sorry to read that you were not made to feel special. We are disappointed to have let you down in this regard. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing