We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location, handy to inner city shops restaurants and waterfront. Friendly and helpful staff, good value, rooms not too small, comfy and clean, and everything you need really. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback after your time with us at ibis Wellington !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Visited Ibis for a three day stay in Wellington. This hotel is located in the heart of Wellington CBD close to Te Papa, the markets, train and shops. Because of the central location you are expected to pay $25 for parking per night- which we did not know and you had to book a space with the hotel in which we were told that the car park was full and that there was a carpark two blocks away!!! we were not impressed BUT there were pay and display parks outside the hotel which were free after certain hours as it was the weekend so we just parked there- had to be quick though coz everyone else had the same idea. I visited in a group of 6 where we booked three rooms. Our room was quite spacicous but the bathroom was cramped in. My inlaws room was quite cramped and so was my brother inlaws room but the rooms were very clean, big comfy beds, fridge to put drinks in and also had extra blankets and pillows in the wardrobe. We had a good view out our little window down onto the street where our car was parked but our inlaws had a depressing view of a dark building. I must say that the breakfast buffet was amazing with hot food and continental breakfast and the service from the staff in that area was top notch however we were not happy with some of the other staff. My brother inlaw called the service desk for more towels and they said we were not allowed any more BECAUSE they thought that there were more then two people staying in his room as we all travelled together. His room had two double beds and the service desk thought there were more people in the room. After arguing on the phone to them they reluctantly brought up more towels to find that there were only two people in the room much to their dismay! This has NEVER happened to any other hotel we have stayed with and has ruined any future plans with this hotel due to poor service in that department.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaz2y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We were pleased there were parts of your experience, including our breakfast buffet, that you enjoyed. However, we were very disappointed at the poor impression we gave when you requested more towels. It's a simple request that should inspire a simple and helpful solution. We got it wrong and we are genuinely sorry. Thank you very much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Good spot in Central Wellington. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and for our one night stay before heading south it was a good choice. The service was great. The room reflects and is perfect for the price paid. We dined in the ground floor restaurant and it was as good as any of the big hotel chains. Thanks Ibis.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExploreNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback after your time with us at ibis Wellington ! We hope you enjoyed your time in the South Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here four nights and found it was a good location for shopping and also sight seeing. Greats views out of the room windows and big spacious rooms. We didn't have breakfast but there's plenty of coffee shops nearby. Not bad for a room in Wellington city, just one street behind main shopping.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kelliemariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £62 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing