We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and centrally located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and centrally located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very centrally located in the heart of Wellington, close to Cuba Street shopping and dining area. A very comfortable hotel. Service was good and the bedrooms were well appointed. The in house bar was a little expensive but with so many choices nearby, this shouldn't be a problem. Be careful if you are driving a large people carrier as our eight sweater wouldn't fit in the downstairs car park and literally managed to get into the very small ground floor car park by half an inch. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bybhuggjijbigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    201
    132
    24
    20
See reviews for
51
166
34
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I had an average night's stay here, with the hotel room being okay but not notable for anything. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom a reasonable size. The carpet had not been vacuumed but the rest of the room was clean. There is a distinct lack of soundproofing so street noise does come through quite clearly, which is a problem for light sleepers such as myself. I mainly chose the hotel for its proximity to the Michael Fowler Centre, where I was attending an event, and a very reasonable room price of $110 on a Saturday night. Despite there being three staff on the desk only one was processing bookings so I had quite a wait to be checked in. The staff member was pleasant and directed me to the elevators and gave instructions on parking (see below).

I attempted to book parking in advance because I knew I would be arriving late in the evening but was told that they don't offer advance bookings. The parking building I was directed to was close by but has a silly rule about needing to buy a new ticket by 8:00 the next morning so it wasn't a very restful sleep because I was worried about oversleeping and having to car towed away - which has happened to me before. Definitely detracted from the experience and I'd only return if I knew I'd be arriving early enough in the day to have a good chance of being able to get a hotel car park.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and there was a lot of street noise. Perhaps a room on a higher level would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLKrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thanks for your feedback it’s good to have the details of your experience so we can look at ways to be better. We are currently looking at a solution with the Car parking building next door in order to make it easier for guests to use this service when our car park is full. Due to our limited parking facilities we are unable to guarantee on site car parking.

Regards

Julie Wilcock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This was a reasonably priced night. The room was fine, everything worked. View of a car park to be expected. Room was clean, bed comfortable. As always, I'd settle for a single towel, not 7....but that is a common theme in hotels. Lively lobby and bar, which is welcoming. Location on Wakefield is perfect for waterfront, museum, Cuba st etc. I'd stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Comfortable, pleasant and well-lit room in a good location. We just needed a place to crash for the night and this fit the bill perfectly. The grand piano in the foyer is a nice touch; as musicians we enjoyed playing it (with permission from friendly hotel staff).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1156978635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hotel is brilliantly located for exploring Wellington, just 5 mins walk to waterfront and about 10 mins to cable car. Room was ok, clean and tidy but nothing exciting. Staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thanks for your comments about the hotels location and the friendly staff, they are appreciated. We are a mid-range value for money hotel located in the heart of the city and your feedback helps us to be better.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We had a room booked for 2 nights in West Plaza and granted we did not expect a fancy boutique hotel for the price of the room, but we did expect a 4 star hotel as advertised. However, when we got in the room it was pretty clear that some of the 4 stars were missing. The air-conditioning unit had 1cm thick layer of dust on it, so there was no way you would want to switch the thing on. The shelves in the room and in the bathroom had not been recently cleaned either! We were shown another room, but unfortunately it had pretty much the same issues.
To their credit we could leave the establishment without paying any cancellation fee.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank msgtoelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We appreciate your feedback and apologise that the hotel was not up to our usual standard. As discussed with you at the time, we had just completed a full refurbishment of the hotel lobby and the dust created from this project was worse than anticipated. I do apologise that the rooms you were given had not been checked prior to your arrival. This error was simply not good enough and I have spoken to Housekeeping regarding this issue.

Regards

Julie Wilcock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The westplaza has probably seen better days but overall I would say it is a pretty good place to stay for business. The staff were always pleasant and that is a big thing. There are two things I did not like. I stayed a week and found that my room rate varied up and down for the same room and whether breakfast was included varied too. They clearly leapt on the charge people more when rooms were at a premium in the city! This is not good enough as I only found out one day going down to breakfast that I had to pay for it. How is one supposed to budget. And with regard to breakfast the dining space is too small and the breakfast below par. It was the same old fare, no variation, the fruit tasted a little off, and when the hotel was full the lack of space was very apparent as was the lack of table staff as they struggled to clear tables. And one young man clearly hated his job - smiles would not hurt.Lastly, I stayed in two separate rooms as I went back after a weekend. the first room was for hobbits - if I had leapt in the air I would have smacked my head on the beams ... very pokey indeed for the money it was costing.

Room Tip: Try not to have a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for your comments it’s always good to receive feedback as it helps us be better at what we do. We are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment of the restaurant and lobby area which we intend to have completed mid February 2014.This will hopefully solve the space issue,and will result in an improvement in the food and beverage offering.With regard to our pricing policy , our supply and demand price points are similar to most other service industry suppliers. I do apologise that your breakfast inclusions were not as clear as they should have been and will speak to the front office staff about this. Once again thank for your comments.

Julie Wilcock GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.6 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Property: West Plaza Hotel
Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing