We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradeoff for central location”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We picked the West Plaza for its location and relatively low cost, expecting something basic. The rather nice lobby made it appear much higher end than it turned out to be. Our room had most of what it needed, although I was surprised that it only had a desk chair (hence no place for a second person to sit, as the bed was much too soft) -- a staff person graciously brought a second chair upstairs. The room was surprisingly small, possibly because the bathroom was handicapped-equipped and disproportionately large. The hotel served its purpose but failed to delight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thanks for your comments about the location. Our accessible rooms do normally only have one chair to allow space for a wheelchair when necessary. I am pleased however that the staff could help with another chair for you .
We are a mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington City and our room rates are priced accordingly.

Regards

Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Outstanding choice for business travellers who need to stay in windy Wellington for one or two nights. Located downtown, very close to the CBD and the waterfront, the West Plaza offers you a down-to-earth stay with very friendly and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Maybe it is just Wellington because it is one of the coolest, immaculate, compact cities I have ever visited and therefore I liked the hotel too. Wellington has everything within walking distance to the hotel- water, mountains, gardens, open space, public art, museums, civic buildings, high-rises, theatres, etc. The hotel rooms are basic and small but they have what you need to be comfortable. If it gets hot, remember to ask for a fan because there is no air conditioner.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the building that faces the public parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at the West Plaza during the opening of the Arts Festival.
It's a nice 3 1/2 star hotel with all comforts but without the luxuries.
The rooms are basic but clean and tidy, have opening windows and a flat screen TV.
The bed is quite soft but very comfortable.
The location (SO close to everything) is the main selling point, although the breakfast (not a vast buffet selection) was very delicious indeed.
As mentioned, don't expect a 5 star hotel, but what you do get is value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room near the top floor, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel in Wellington on all of my business trips and have received top service & friendliness on each occasion. The cleanliness of the hotel & the rooms is second to none. The meals are a delight with top ingredients and a chef who obviously enjoys putting it together.
This hotel I call "my home away from home" and it is; simply because I am made to feel welcome on each visit and the room is always turned down for me.
Thanks to Julie & all the staff at the front & behind the scenes who make West Plaza a top place to stay.

Room Tip: If you're needing some quietness- then ask for the bond street side :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Great location for Courtney Place, water front, town hall/Michael Fowler Centre and an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to Parliament.

Very helpful staff. Front desk staff were especially helpful in finding me accommodation when my flight was cancelled and there was no accommodation at West Plaza for an additional night. They went out of their way to (successfully) find me a bed for the night. That 'above and beyond service' was appreciated.

Rooms are basic but most adequate although lack of air conditioning was a negative on a rare humid Wellington night!

Food service was good.

Overall recommended for business travel but possibly not for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boofhead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your feedback it’s great to receive such positive comments about the staff at the hotel. We are a mid-range value for money hotel located in the central city and your feedback helps others to choose our hotel when next in Wellington.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed in a triple room with my two children. The good points were the price (only a few dollars more than a backpackers would have been for the three of us) and the location (very central, close to Cuba St and surrounded by great places to eat, library, galleries, etc.). Although the rooms are a little dated, the beds were comfortable and the towels were nice and fluffy. We were well away from the road so noise didn't bother us, but I was woken by the alarm clock in the room next door so I would say the soundproofing isn't too good. All in all, great value for money for such a comfortable stay in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Plaza Hotel
Bay Plaza Hotel
#39 of 46 in Wellington
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £66 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing