We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle-of-the-Road seventies style city hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
382 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Middle-of-the-Road seventies style city hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The West Plaza hotel is an unimpressive sleeping factory with 102 rooms over 5 storeys in the centre of Wellington. Nearby and at the waterfront you find dozens of cafés, bars and restaurants.

The West Plaza has a true seventies architecture and atmosphere, walls between rooms are relatively thin. From our room at the back-side of the building we had a view of the entrance of a parking garage. Every morning the garbage truck gave us a wake-up call. As we were unhappy with our wake-up call we changed for the second day of our stay to a two-room suite. The photos are from the suite.

Wi-Fi Internet is extra and only free at the bar for 30 minutes when you have drink. Quite surprising as the whole city centre has free Wi-Fi internet.

Our room was clean and furnished with a wardrobe, two club-chairs and a flat screen TV set. It had a coffee & tea making facility. The bathroom is appropriate with washbasin, toilet and shower. All was very clean.

The hotel is OK but definitely has inherited its four stars from its best days over two decades ago. Nowadays it is more a 2 to 3 star. The hotel has a bar in the lobby and an uninviting restaurant which we did not visit. The buffet style breakfast is good with ample variety: cereals, fruits, orange juice, pastries, yoghurts, rolls, cold-cuts, different cheeses, eggs made to order, etc.

The hotel is clean and satisfactory maintained. Staffs were helpful and friendly. We would recommend it to all who seek a no-nonsense accommodation in the city centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for your detailed comments about the hotel, I was pleased to see that the staff were able to move rooms for you at no cost so you could have better sleep in.
We do have several packages available that include both the accommodation and WiFi for the entire stay for those guests that prefer this.
It was good to hear the comments about the cleanliness of the rooms. Our 4 Star rating is assessed each year and we have just recently had it reconfirmed for a further year.

Regards,
Julie Wilcock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    195
    128
    23
    19
See reviews for
50
160
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a wonderful find at a reasonable price. Clean modern and centrally located with its own parking garage. The buffet breakfast was a good value with enough variety, and open early.
Great location to nightlife and restaurants.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DMAtractorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for one night before heading over the Strait. Second time of staying. It is a nice hotel with reasonable facilities (bar and restaurant). Parking can be a bit tricky as it is very limited but the location makes up for this.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We picked the West Plaza for its location and relatively low cost, expecting something basic. The rather nice lobby made it appear much higher end than it turned out to be. Our room had most of what it needed, although I was surprised that it only had a desk chair (hence no place for a second person to sit, as the bed was much too soft) -- a staff person graciously brought a second chair upstairs. The room was surprisingly small, possibly because the bathroom was handicapped-equipped and disproportionately large. The hotel served its purpose but failed to delight.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for your comments about the location. Our accessible rooms do normally only have one chair to allow space for a wheelchair when necessary. I am pleased however that the staff could help with another chair for you .
We are a mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington City and our room rates are priced accordingly.

Regards

Julie Wilcock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Outstanding choice for business travellers who need to stay in windy Wellington for one or two nights. Located downtown, very close to the CBD and the waterfront, the West Plaza offers you a down-to-earth stay with very friendly and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Maybe it is just Wellington because it is one of the coolest, immaculate, compact cities I have ever visited and therefore I liked the hotel too. Wellington has everything within walking distance to the hotel- water, mountains, gardens, open space, public art, museums, civic buildings, high-rises, theatres, etc. The hotel rooms are basic and small but they have what you need to be comfortable. If it gets hot, remember to ask for a fan because there is no air conditioner.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the building that faces the public parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at the West Plaza during the opening of the Arts Festival.
It's a nice 3 1/2 star hotel with all comforts but without the luxuries.
The rooms are basic but clean and tidy, have opening windows and a flat screen TV.
The bed is quite soft but very comfortable.
The location (SO close to everything) is the main selling point, although the breakfast (not a vast buffet selection) was very delicious indeed.
As mentioned, don't expect a 5 star hotel, but what you do get is value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room near the top floor, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Property: West Plaza Hotel
Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing