We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our third stay at the West Plaza and we will continue to return on future holidays. Perfect location to access all parts of the inner city. Great for a family to stay at as it is quiet and spacious. Rooms are clean and well kept. Facilities are all that are needed and staff are generally helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others, for same price. Ask to see the room before you confirm. We book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thanks for your fantastic comments - We are a mid range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington. Your comments will help other to pick West Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington
We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,

Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have just stayed here again, for about the 7th or 8th time. As usual, I was able to stay in a nice quiet room at the back of the property. The room is comfortable, the bathroom has been recently renovated. The shower is great! Bed comfortable, and I enjoyed a quiet night. Breakfast is part of the deal, and they have a big range of choices on the buffet, plus eggs to order if scrambled is not what you want. The staff at check-in/check-out, and the housekeeping person I asked to help me were all really great, and the service people in the restaurant are cheerful and attentive.
I recommend this as a well priced centrally located hotel.
The only problem that I have experienced is parking. The hotel has limited parks, and the adjacent parking building which is run by Tournament Parking does not easily provide overnight parking. It needs a day ticket and then one needs to pay at night for an overnight ticket... but beware if you are late at the changeover... a 6 minute overstay on the day ticket cost a $65 fine!! So my $17 21 hour parking became an $82 pain.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff were super helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. The location was perfect for getting around Wellington, everything at your doorstep. The price was good value for money, only thing wrong was the room was too hot.

Room Tip: Had a room at the end of the corridor and no noise from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my teenage daughter and it was the perfect location for exploring the city on foot. The staff, both at the front desk and the the restaurant, are so friendly and helpful it was easy to overlook any flaws of the hotel. For the price I don't think we could have done any better. If location, good food or friendly staff are your top priorities I would recommend West Plaza Hotel.

Breakfast was included in our rate and the buffet was substantial offering both hot and cold selections. We also had a delicious, late night dinner one of the evenings.

Our room was old and tired, but clean. The bathroom was small and seemed to be a lower standard than everything else about the place. In contrast to the small bathroom was our large room, big and comfortable bed and even a fridge.

I will stay here again if I go to Wellington, as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I regularly stay at West Plaza due to its proximity to my customers. After making a booking error that remained undiscovered until after the event, I was pleasantly surprised at how fantastically the staff handled the situation. A customer focussed approach is something so simple and effective, yet disappointingly hard to find at hospitality and retail spots these days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkingMumOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The central but quiet location, the comfortable rooms and appropriate facilities make the West Plaza an obvious choice for a business and pleasure stay in Wellington. A well priced hotel, with friendly helpful staff, I've stayed here before and will do so again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks so much for your comments it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a mid-range value for money hotel in heart of Wellington city and your comments help others to choose West Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards, Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The best part of the West Plaza is it's location, in the central city. My room was average but reasonably modern and clean. I have no complaints but nothing stands out either. I'd stay again if the price was right. The breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Plaza Hotel
Bay Plaza Hotel
#39 of 46 in Wellington
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £66 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing