We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Handy central location for work requirements as well as only a couple of blocks away from our favourite haunts when we visit Wellington. Some great shops and bars/restaurants within 10 minutes walk. 2nd floor roadside was too noisy for me (I live in the country) and was no hassle for reception staff to move us to a quieter room - even sent someone up to help with moving bags. Room was bigger than I anticipated for the price. Room was clean & well kept. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzpetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    210
    135
    24
    21
See reviews for
54
169
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The location is across the road from the Michael Fowler Centre, but it's only a few blocks to most of the other CBD areas where our appointments were and approx 5 - 10 minutes to Te Papa in the other direction.

For dinner though you need to walk probably 10 minutes in either direction if you don't want to eat in the hotel as both ends of the CBD are where the better restaurants are.

The foyer / bar area is set up really well for meetings and if you purchase drinks you get 1/2 hour free wifi in the afternoons.

The rooms were reasonable and even though a little older, very clean, well set up and all the amenities you require. Good value for the price.

The staff were great and they have 24 hour reception. All in all a good clean, quiet and appropriate hotel for business. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was the first time I had stayed at the West Plaza and will certainly look to stay again.
As I had arrived early my room was not immediatly available despite this minor setback the staff were great. they booked me in immediatly and arranged for my case to be taken to the room when it had been serviced. The young man on reception was extreemly helpful and had a very traditional Kiwi style on his interactions with the guests.
Overall I rate this as a 8 from 10 operation

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We appreciate your comments – It’s always good to hear when the staff are helpful. Our staff are our greatest asset, the service they provide influences repeat business.

We do hope to see you again at the West Plaza Hotel Wellington.
Thanks again,

Julie Wilcock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our third stay at the West Plaza and we will continue to return on future holidays. Perfect location to access all parts of the inner city. Great for a family to stay at as it is quiet and spacious. Rooms are clean and well kept. Facilities are all that are needed and staff are generally helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others, for same price. Ask to see the room before you confirm. We book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for your fantastic comments - We are a mid range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington. Your comments will help other to pick West Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington
We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,

Julie Wilcock - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have just stayed here again, for about the 7th or 8th time. As usual, I was able to stay in a nice quiet room at the back of the property. The room is comfortable, the bathroom has been recently renovated. The shower is great! Bed comfortable, and I enjoyed a quiet night. Breakfast is part of the deal, and they have a big range of choices on the buffet, plus eggs to order if scrambled is not what you want. The staff at check-in/check-out, and the housekeeping person I asked to help me were all really great, and the service people in the restaurant are cheerful and attentive.
I recommend this as a well priced centrally located hotel.
The only problem that I have experienced is parking. The hotel has limited parks, and the adjacent parking building which is run by Tournament Parking does not easily provide overnight parking. It needs a day ticket and then one needs to pay at night for an overnight ticket... but beware if you are late at the changeover... a 6 minute overstay on the day ticket cost a $65 fine!! So my $17 21 hour parking became an $82 pain.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff were super helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. The location was perfect for getting around Wellington, everything at your doorstep. The price was good value for money, only thing wrong was the room was too hot.

Room Tip: Had a room at the end of the corridor and no noise from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy19612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my teenage daughter and it was the perfect location for exploring the city on foot. The staff, both at the front desk and the the restaurant, are so friendly and helpful it was easy to overlook any flaws of the hotel. For the price I don't think we could have done any better. If location, good food or friendly staff are your top priorities I would recommend West Plaza Hotel.

Breakfast was included in our rate and the buffet was substantial offering both hot and cold selections. We also had a delicious, late night dinner one of the evenings.

Our room was old and tired, but clean. The bathroom was small and seemed to be a lower standard than everything else about the place. In contrast to the small bathroom was our large room, big and comfortable bed and even a fridge.

I will stay here again if I go to Wellington, as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Property: West Plaza Hotel
Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing