We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesomeness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marksman Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marksman Motor Inn
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great location, helpful hosts, nice room. Only slight downer was the cold tap in our bathroom was almost impossible to turn on, and only came out as a trickle at best... Bed was super comfy, had a great sleep, thought road noise would be an issue, but hardly noticed it. Will stay again if I am ever back in Wellington

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristyHanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Great location as I wanted to hit the town for a meal and drink after a very busy days work. Great Manageress and very nice room. I will be staying here again on business for sure. The City is very close and the noise level from the road was amazingly not bad. Well done Team.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We were overnight in Wellington for a school trip. The room was very pleasant - probably redecorated in the last five years as there was a flat screen and the colours seemed to have been changed from rich cream tones to white / grey tones. The shower was still an old plastic dark cream with the 70s plastic showerhead - but it worked fine. A flat screen was visible from the living and bedroom area and there was a small bench that was the kitchenette.
Close to Government House and appeared to be plenty of parking.
Free wi-fi - but you had to ask for it and pay extra for extensive use.
Flat walking distance to most Wellington attractions if you are a keen walker.
Service was adequate - nothing less, nothing more than you needed.
Comfortable queen size bed, extra pillows, blankets and towels provided.

Room Tip: As far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedGoodCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Pleasant Motel however hard to access if you're not familiar with Wellington.
The room was updated and had all the basics, double bed divided off by a wall
which is good if there is three of you in the unit. Walking distance to local eateries.
There is apparently enough car spaces for everyone, however if cars are not
parked correctly you could be out of luck if you come back late in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingham queensland australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our one night stay will be our first and last here. We arrived into Wellington late (10pm) as we had driven all day so we could meet our daughter at the airport early morning. We pulled into the Marksman as it looked ok. Unfortunately the office was closed and we rang the bell. The gentleman came out to see us, told us the price (thought it was very expensive), but we were in a strange town so we accepted it. The room was clean and tidy, but the first impression from the relieving manager (so he told us) was enough to get us out of there as early as possible and out of Wellington (we had intended on staying another night).
Overall very expensive and very rude for a mediocre motor inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

London UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

A very well appointed and furnished motel within easy walk of the local restaurants and then a little further into the city centre. The good sized room could sleep three and had a useful and fully equipped kitchenette, a fridge, and a large screen TV mounted on the wall. We thought the quality of the room and furnishings more than justified the then going rate. Despite being beside a busy road the double glazing effectively kept out the noise. The car parking was free and much appreciated. Whilst we were there for only one night, as and when we return to Wellington, we would have no qualms in booking in again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westlondonerW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2008

The marksman is located on a busy street which made for a lot of road noise and with no fan system, the windows had to remain open. Also, it is located just a little too far from downtown to walk back after a big dinner, yet for a budget price, you might want to aim low for one night.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.6 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#39 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
88 Wallace Court
88 Wallace Court
#32 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capital View Motor Inn
Capital View Motor Inn
#24 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marksman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marksman Motor Inn

Property: Marksman Motor Inn
Address: 40 - 44 Sussex Street, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marksman Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & affordable accommodation in Wellington. 19 x Studio, 1 & 2-bedroom units, some with full kitchen. Free off-street car parking. Walking distance to most major tourist attractions, conference centers and local restaurants. All rooms fully refurbished Sep/Oct 2006. Wireless internet access available (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Marksman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing