We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it was close to the ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newlands Court Motel
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well, it was close to the ferry”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

It was certainly close to the InterIslander ferry to Picton, but otherwise it was a disappointment. No cupboards and no sink in our studio room, and the windows were either open or closed - no catches for partial opening for security. Moreover, our room did not small fresh.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    16
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Found this motel to be a great location - very handy to ferry and with a bus service close by, ideal for travel to and from Wellington CBD without having to worry about car parking. Just a short walk (or drive) to Johnsonville for restaurants and supermarket etc. Although right on the main road there was no disturbance from traffic noise. The motel, while small (the upstairs units are larger) was adequate for us as a couple, very clean, comfortable bed, lovely linen, well equipped and serviced daily - parking outside unit - good value for money. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We found unit No. 7 (at the end of the downstairs block) a nice configuration and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good sized room and bathroom. Downside would be that there is no wardrobe. Very friendly staff. This motel is also pet friendly. The location is quiet in a bush surrounding, and yet is quite close to the CBD, Cook Strait Ferry, Lower Hutt and State Highway One to go north.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Me and my wife and daughter stayed here very enjoyably. The beds were clean,serviced daily and very comfortable. Shower and all appliances worked well. Kitchen well set up with sufficient cutlery plates microwave and normal cooking stove, all very clean. The hosts were most friendly and helpfull with directions. Good value for a cheaper end accomodation, will definitely use it again when in Wellington. Well placed, close to town,ferry, buses just outside. On site parking for cars. Altogether very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed one night on our way to the south island. The owners were friendly and the rooms clean. The motel is less than 10 minutes drive to the ferry terminal and a 15 minutes bus ride to town centre.
The studio units we had were on the ground floor with parking for our car just outside the rooms. The rooms are small but adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundeep-travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I am a regular traveller between the North and South Island. After my stay at Newlands Court Motel will definitely be returning there. The owners Lena and Ralph are a wonderful couple. The price range is reasonable for an older motel and my unit was fully serviced on a daily basis. Good location and handy to Johnsonville, Porirua and Wellington City.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My 2 young children and I came to stay and I have to say it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Lovely motel. Friendly Staff. Clean, tidy and spacious rooms. We travel quite often and I have to say these were the most comfortable beds any of us have ever slept on, we all had a peaceful rest. Would highly recommend to all and will be staying again next time we are in Wellington. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stacybing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
4.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#36 of 46 in Wellington
36 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#35 of 46 in Wellington
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wellington
138 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
504 reviews
5.8 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#43 of 46 in Wellington
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Court Motel

Property: Newlands Court Motel
Address: 96 Newlands Road, Wellington 6037, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Newlands Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located just 300m off SH 1 and set back from Newlands Road. We are the last motel off SH 1 before the Interislander ferry, 5 minutes drive to Interislander ferry and 7 minutes to Blue bridge ferry. Just 7 to 10 minutes to the central city, Te Papa, Westpac Stadium, Hutt Valley and Porirua. We are on the main bus route to Wellington and within 1.5km of restaurants, rail and shopping centre. Service and facilities include 24-hour check-in, guest laundry. Wireless broadband internet, facsimile facilities. Cooked or continental breakfast, cot/highchair available. Large lawn play area with a swing and a slide, ample off-street parking, pets welcome by arrangement.2 studio units (sleep 2) - queen-size bed, tea/coffee/toast-making facilities and microwave. 5 family units (sleep 2 to 5) - queen-size bed, single beds in the lounge and separate bedroom. Fully equipped kitchen.We are more than happy for you to bring your dog, cat or other small animal along with you although we do ask you to sign a form to say you will be responsible for your pet. Please enquire as to what the conditions are prior to arriving at our motel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Newlands Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing