We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Ranked #23 of 46 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The landlord is the rudest man I have ever came across in the hospitality industry. He made us all feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome. He is very strange and you get the vibe you have walked into the setting of a horror movie. The place is very outdated with tread bare bedding and towels. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 406traveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Being an airline employee I am we'll travelled, I have experienced the best and worst and I rate "Richmond Guest House" up with the best, and the owner John is very helpful and great to have a chat with, and Madori who greats you with a smile at breakfast, like John, is always helpful and ready to help if required. The rooms are warm and cosy, private and best of all being an older solid building its very quiet and you get a great nights sleep, and WOW John has not got the hard hotel type beds, these beds are firm but soft and cosy just like home....I have stayed for two weeks and really feel welcome and have had awesome sleeps, and how many places can you say that about, not many !!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodgervirginmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location, close to the city in a street surounded by some huge beautiful old houses, the house was so clean and the staff were choice especially the owner, my room was awesome so warm and cosy so one could really relax after a day out in the fasinating city of Wellington

Room Tip: Room seven , fron below , just recently renovates ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devonbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very helpful ,knowledgeable and courteous staff , where nothing is to much trouble for them , they even got in some glutton free bread for me , I paid a fair price for a grand room, a great location and close to everything , and just a ten minute taxi ride from the airport, city tour bust collect from the front door for local tours

Room Tip: Room ten below so homely with a queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Exactly as described. Rooms are simple but comfortable, clean and well-kept. The location is convenient, being a 10-minute walk (if you're reasonably mobile) from Courtney Place and about 5 minutes away from the bus stops at Cambridge Terrace (for buses into town) or Kent Terrace (for routes out of the centre)

John has a keen sense of responsibility to all his guests but some appear to think that he should simply let them do what they want irrespective of the effects on other guests. It also seems that some guests take issue with the matter of washing up dishes; well, this is a guest house that provides B&B not an hotel geared to provide for several meal sittings a day. There is a sign in the kitchen asking that, apart from the breakfast dishes (that John and his staff members do as part of the B&B service), people clean up after themselves as, hopefully, they would do at home. The kitchen and dining room are available for the guests' use at reasonable times - so it makes sense that people who use use crockery, cutlery and pans should clean up after themselves: this is hardly rocket science neither is it a reason for feigned displays of "righteous indignation".

Quite simply, if you want hotel levels of service, go to an hotel and pay hotel prices. If you want a decent room, good service, use of the available facilities and a better-than-average shower (did I mention the shower?) - all at a reasonable price, stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great atmosphere and helpful service from John , room was simple and individually decorated very pleasing to the eye , Comfortable bed and great shower , really enjoyable relaxing place perfect for getting away from it all and recharging the batteries , had a wonderful time there and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: We were in room 12 down stairs , the biggest room , well decorated ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KYLIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A very convenient location and easy walk into the city. Breakfast is somewhat basic consisting of liimited range of cereal and toast with jam with no cooked option. Pleasant surprise to return to find a heater warming our room on a cold evening. .Host is obliging and friendly.

Room Tip: Request room in main house rather than in outside block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitravellers060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
1 mi away
No photo provided
Te Puni Village
#41 of 47 in Wellington
5 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 46 in Wellington
373 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#15 of 53 in Wellington
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £47 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing