We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Ranked #25 of 48 Wellington B&B and Inns
ak
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you are looking for somewhere within close walking distant to city this is the place to stay. Room with ensuite, comfortable and quiet, with added bonus of breakfast in nice spacious dining room. John is great for a chat and helpful with any information you may need. this is my 2nd time staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiangela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    88
    37
    33
    37
See reviews for
29
114
76
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The bedrooms had too much furniture in them - cluttered with drawers. However, they were very large with each having it's own shower/toilet.

Great hot water and great water pressure.
Nice clean sheets in the bed.

My friends room - in her ensuite the net curtains really needed to be cleaned.

Breakfast did not included a cooked option which was disappointing. Only option is cereal and toast with orange / hot drink.

My toilet dripped all night - the following night I flushed it again to stop the drip as advised but then I had to get up three times to do this. Hopefully the owner will have fixed this after my departure.

The owner is a very interesting chap, nice to chat to and have conversations with.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohope, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This lovely little hide away is a timeless beauty with a collection of antiques scattered around the interior of the property making it a decorative treat. It is warm and tidy, and the owner of the guest house is friendly, welcoming and has an entertaining sense of humour. The bonus of this Guest house is the perfect location-about a 7 minute walk to Courtenay place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The landlord is the rudest man I have ever came across in the hospitality industry. He made us all feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome. He is very strange and you get the vibe you have walked into the setting of a horror movie. The place is very outdated with tread bare bedding and towels. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 406traveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Being an airline employee I am we'll travelled, I have experienced the best and worst and I rate "Richmond Guest House" up with the best, and the owner John is very helpful and great to have a chat with, and Madori who greats you with a smile at breakfast, like John, is always helpful and ready to help if required. The rooms are warm and cosy, private and best of all being an older solid building its very quiet and you get a great nights sleep, and WOW John has not got the hard hotel type beds, these beds are firm but soft and cosy just like home....I have stayed for two weeks and really feel welcome and have had awesome sleeps, and how many places can you say that about, not many !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodgervirginmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location, close to the city in a street surounded by some huge beautiful old houses, the house was so clean and the staff were choice especially the owner, my room was awesome so warm and cosy so one could really relax after a day out in the fasinating city of Wellington

Room Tip: Room seven , fron below , just recently renovates ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very helpful ,knowledgeable and courteous staff , where nothing is to much trouble for them , they even got in some glutton free bread for me , I paid a fair price for a grand room, a great location and close to everything , and just a ten minute taxi ride from the airport, city tour bust collect from the front door for local tours

Room Tip: Room ten below so homely with a queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,475 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#10 of 46 in Wellington
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Property: Richmond Guest House
Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing