We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect price for a homely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Ranked #24 of 46 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The guest house was perfect for what I required. A great price and had all the essentials available. John was very welcoming and helpful. For a lady travelling alone the room was perfectly equipped with their own bathrooms, a hair dryer, clean towels, and wifi. Beautiful Victorian styled house that felt like a home away from home. The only disappointments would be the rude country nurses who kept fellow guests and I up late by socialising loudly in the common areas. It was unfortunate that fellow kiwi's were not as polite and respectful as some. There was an issue with a water cylinder also but the host was very apologetic with both issues the next morning. I stayed here for two nights and having travelled throughout NZ this was definitely a bargain for a comfortable stay and easy location. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have travelled & stayed in many places throughout NZ. I have never felt compelled to write reviews and this is my first as this place left a very poor & disturbing experience and I would suggest be prepared for blatant rudeness and a very condescending attitude from the owner/manager John. I witnessed the same behaviour with other patrons and am surprised if anyone does ever return for a second stay unless looking for somewhere cheap and close to the city and prepared to put up with a manager who has what can only describe best as having a "Jekyll & Hyde" like personality! Initially welcoming but then complaining constantly of previous patrons & then nit picking your every move in his presence -bullying tactics to exert a type of authority maybe but in know way acceptable to the hospitality industry and NZ visitors. The room was reasonably comfortable for the tarriff, but could do with a thorough clean of cobwebs and mould stained curtains & repair of wet floors around the toilet - the plumbing throughout was in need of a major overhaul/repair. Thank goodness, I had witnesses should there be a come back from this review!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank tripFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

If you are looking for somewhere within close walking distant to city this is the place to stay. Room with ensuite, comfortable and quiet, with added bonus of breakfast in nice spacious dining room. John is great for a chat and helpful with any information you may need. this is my 2nd time staying here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiangela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The bedrooms had too much furniture in them - cluttered with drawers. However, they were very large with each having it's own shower/toilet.

Great hot water and great water pressure.
Nice clean sheets in the bed.

My friends room - in her ensuite the net curtains really needed to be cleaned.

Breakfast did not included a cooked option which was disappointing. Only option is cereal and toast with orange / hot drink.

My toilet dripped all night - the following night I flushed it again to stop the drip as advised but then I had to get up three times to do this. Hopefully the owner will have fixed this after my departure.

The owner is a very interesting chap, nice to chat to and have conversations with.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo_Design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This lovely little hide away is a timeless beauty with a collection of antiques scattered around the interior of the property making it a decorative treat. It is warm and tidy, and the owner of the guest house is friendly, welcoming and has an entertaining sense of humour. The bonus of this Guest house is the perfect location-about a 7 minute walk to Courtenay place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The landlord is the rudest man I have ever came across in the hospitality industry. He made us all feel very uncomfortable and unwelcome. He is very strange and you get the vibe you have walked into the setting of a horror movie. The place is very outdated with tread bare bedding and towels. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 406traveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Being an airline employee I am we'll travelled, I have experienced the best and worst and I rate "Richmond Guest House" up with the best, and the owner John is very helpful and great to have a chat with, and Madori who greats you with a smile at breakfast, like John, is always helpful and ready to help if required. The rooms are warm and cosy, private and best of all being an older solid building its very quiet and you get a great nights sleep, and WOW John has not got the hard hotel type beds, these beds are firm but soft and cosy just like home....I have stayed for two weeks and really feel welcome and have had awesome sleeps, and how many places can you say that about, not many !!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodgervirginmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
1 mi away
No photo provided
Te Puni Village
#41 of 47 in Wellington
5 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#31 of 47 in Wellington
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 46 in Wellington
372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Acorns Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: £46 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing