We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised...”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Believing that one should not necessarily be governed by others opinions, we booked for one nights stay {in transit} at the Shepherds Arms, 285, TINAKORI Road, Wellington...Quaint, old fashioned, no service were some of the complaints we read..We agree on the observation re the reception desk, no-one in attendance so had to fetch a barman...OK, we did that, we were given a key to the room and advised of its whereabouts..Old yes, but spotlessly clean.. Plenty of stairs, no option but to use them, old sash cord window which dropped like a ton weight when released...Downstairs restaurant second to none for good meals, pleasant service in keeping with expectations.. Street noise had been an earlier complaint.. We are both light sleepers but had a very good nights sleep after the street quietened at about 11pm...We do not hesitate to give top marks for quaintness, cleanliness, old fashioned in a Cobb and Co sense.. We fully expected one of their coaches to call when the taxi was due in the A.M.. All amenities for a pleasant stay..Would not hesitate to stay there again...Tony Watson.

Room Tip: Don't have one, our room was fine..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    65
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
75
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were very happy with our stay, early check-in, convenient parking at no charge, very comfortable and clean room, great meal in the bar and easy walk into the city. The only downfall, someone forgot to put out the muesli for breakfast, just a big bowl of peaches and jug of milk, couldn't find any staff anywhere. A very comfortable bed and peaceful sleep will see us booking here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The room was really spacious, beautiful and rustic and the location was just wonderful (surrounded by good Italian restaurant, antique shops, few minutes walk to Wellington Botanic Garden including Katherine Mansfield's house which has been turned into a museum). However, what will bring me back to this hotel is the excellent customer service-- the hotel and the restaurant staff who graciously, without any fuss, assisted me with requests (early check-in, help with laundry, phone and internet access, food storage after checkout while I explore the city for the last time).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Positives:
Nice area with character, free parking, walking distance to Wellington City Centre and short drive to ferry terminal, good value considering location, spacious room

Negatives:
Treated indifferently at check-in, room could have been cleaner (bed and bathroom were clean but the rest of the accommodation showed lack of attention to detail) Decor dark and dated

To sum up, it served its purpose for us, which was reasonably-priced stopover before catching ferry to South Island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in a King Suite in the annex building. A comfortable spacious room with windows on two sides; one side to the road and the other to the main hotel building. We could hear both the traffic noise and the pub patrons in the outside area. However, neither were intrusive when the windows were closed. We would have given a ’good’ rating had it been available but, as we do not feel the hotel deserves a ‘very good’ rating, we have rated it ‘average‘.

The Good:

. Spacious room in very good condition with a comfortable bed and sofa.
. Spacious bathroom in very good condition except for parts of the bath and the shower curtain.
. Ample supply of hot water from a shower with good pressure.
. Pleasant location within the small ‘village’ of Tinakori; reasonable walking distance to the CBD (although, of course, it is uphill on the journey back)
. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful (when you could find them)
. Free parking (but see below)
. Modern TV with good selection of channels; ample wardrobe space
. Well priced given the room size, car parking and location

The Not So Good:

. Generally, the bathroom was in very good condition. However, there was mould on the shower curtain and around the bath where the seals had broken.
. There were no bath towels in the room when we arrived. It took quite a while to locate any member of staff but when we did he was very pleasant, chatty and helpful.
. One small bar of soap and one small shampoo bottle; not replenished.
. Our room was not serviced on the Saturday of our long weekend stay
. The advertised morning newspaper did not materialise on any day.
. The free car park is small for such a large hotel/pub. We came and went either early or late each day and always managed to find a spot, but on more than one occasion it was the last spot and we observed others who weren’t so lucky.
. There was no information provided in the room or at check in about the hotel or the surrounding area
. At no time did we see the reception open and staffed; at check in we had to look in the restaurant/bar for someone and at check out we simply left our key in the drop box.

The overall impression was that the ‘hotel’ part of the business is simply an add-on to the bar and restaurant. It is less a hotel more a pub with rooms. Overall, I would say that it was an OK experience. A lovely comfortable building with a number of fairly minor but cumulative niggles. I would stay again but would not rush to do so. I normally like to share my comments with staff before I leave but, unfortunately, there was no-one around when we checked out.

Room Tip: If staying in the annex it may be quieter to ask for a room further away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZWillco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Not many hotel receptionists would volunteer to bring her own hairdryer in for me after she finished work, but this one did - and I was very grateful. What wonderful service. As I had a very early departure they put my breakfast makings (muesli and peaches in attractive small jars) in the fridge so I could suit myself. The plunger coffee was appreciated too. The colonial style room was spacious, comfortable and reasonably quiet, while the [double] shower was really good. Parking is included which is a bonus and the Thorndon location on the city outskirts was very convenient. Several good restaurants and stylish shops right outside the door. excellent value and I would happily to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumac2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This is a really cool bargain in the heart of pricy wellington. The host Greg is very relaxed and accommodating. The location is excellent with free parking (25 dollar value free) in the heart of town. Secondly, the rooms are a bit Victorian Colonial architecture-ish but very comfortable nevertheless. The pub underneath seems very popular and hip. Can't fault anything at all. Especially given the price, would stay here again in a heart beat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
1.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 46 in Wellington
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 46 in Wellington
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shepherds Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shepherds Arms Hotel

Property: Shepherds Arms Hotel
Address: 285 Tinakori Road, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shepherds Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shepherds Arms Hotel & Speight's Ale House is a Boutique Hotel offering a warm and friendly stay in Wellingtons oldest historical village. Close to all Ferries, Train Station, Botanic Gardens, Parliament, Katherine Mansfield House, Cable Car and Wellingtons vibrant night life. A full restaurant and Bar is available downstairs offering great Kiwi hospitality with fantastic meals and the best range of quality NZ Beers. Free car parking, internet, laundry is also available. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shepherds Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing