We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hotel St George

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel St George
Annecy-le-Vieux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice place to live in, and an amazing and helpful staff! The kitchen's a great place to meet new people and the location of the hotel, in the heart of Wellington, is perfect! There's a laundry room with security cam so nobody will try to steak your stuff (same in the kitchen) fully equiped. I've spent 5 months there and I loved it, so I truly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Accommodation on Trip Advisor. The Kitchen/Lounge common area is a very popular place to meet other people from all over the world, especially if you are travelling alone. Hotel St George is the perfect choice for accommodation for travellers working in the city like yourself. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel St George and we hope to see you next time you return to Wellington.- Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
8
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed at St George as a student from Feb 2013 till July 2013 because I was unable to secure a place in the school accomodation. I was glad though, its central location makes it convenient to move about anywhere. Plus points include the the card security, clean and comfortable rooms and friendly managers (Bruce and Yong)! Also both managers are attentive to tenants and are quick to take action when needed, something which I appreciate. The kitchen was huge and comfortable to cook in with plenty of room for many people to cook at once. Overall, am pretty satisfied with my stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank syikin y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge67, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Syikin - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hotel St George is now even more secure with a upgraded key-card system installed last week, and the kitchen is now more internationally welcoming with flags from all over the world. - Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently hired Hotel St George as a meeting space for a small seminar we were hosting.
We couldn't have been happier with the space and facilities.
Everything worked first time, the kitchen space was clean and tidy and on a cold blustery day the room was warm and cosy.
Thanks very much for having us - we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amber d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Amber - Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our business customers. At the Hotel St George a meeting room is available for hire. I am glad you were happy with everything and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baralaba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I loved staying at st georges hotel. It is way better than any hostel,great value for money and probably the best location you could ask for in wellington. Yong and bruce on reception are friendly and helpful.the common areas are kept clean and you never struggle for room for cooking or crockery and pans. If you are staying a few months in Wellington and dont want to pay the bond for an apartment / go through the hassel of searchinh this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Alexandra - I was great having you stay with us and thank you for writing a review for us. Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We regularly book the Boardroom for our business meetings and are very happy with the facilities and supplementary services provided during our stay. The cost is also very reasonable and we thoroughly recommend Hotel St George to all prospective users/guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Tania - Thank you for taking the time to let others know about our conference and meeting facilities. Here at the Hotel St George we have an affordable option for a self catered meeting/conference/boardroom. Tea and Coffee making facilities, chilled water, whiteboard and flip charts are all included in a most competitive price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Hotel Saint George is the perfect place to meet people from all over the world staying in a nice street of Wellington right in the CBD. This accommodation is calm, and not noisy at all. The rooms are quite big, cold during the summer and warm during the winter.
Saint George is also really secured.
The only negative point is that people often forget to tidy the kitchen after lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimabaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Marie - Thank you for writing us a review. Yes the kitchen is often an issue when others don't clean as they go and then forget to come back and wash their dishes, but all-in-all most are pretty good. Take care and thanks again - Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed at the St George for almost 3 months and loved it. Firstly its location is second to none, you are a couple of minutes from the water front, Cuba st, Courtenay Place, CBD, Botanical gardens, shops, cafes etc. its all right there! The rooms are clean, with options for shared people or own bathroom. The kitchen and dining room are huge so never too busy but always a friendly face to chat with. The linen room is cheaper than most in Wellington and I never had to que for my washing or drying. You always feel secure because of the swipe key system you need to access the building. Add to this free pool, table tennis, books, dartboard, local discounts and super friendly staff then you’d be hard pushed to find a better location than the St George. Oh and the Beatles stayed here in the 60’s, check out the big picture of them in the lobby!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChristyBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge67, Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Chris - Thank you for taking the time to write us your review. It is great for customers to let other travelers know just what we offer for accommodation. Hotel St George - best place, best location, best price in Wellington City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St George

Property: Hotel St George
Address: 124 Willis Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly St George Summer Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St George - Wellington City accommodation for short term and long term city living. Affordable student and backpacker accommodation in the heart of Wellingtons CBD. All universities and schools, public transport, shops and a supermarket are at your doorstep. This historic art deco building is one of Wellingtons iconic hotels and was host to The Beatles in 1964. St George Accommodation offers a number of room types to suit couples or the single traveller wanting cheap accommodation in the heart of Wellington. Rooms are complete with bed, beside table, desk & chair, draws and a wardrobe. Every level has a small kitchenette to make tea, coffee and breakfast. A larger kitchen is available in the common area for cooking a meal or to relax and watch sky TV. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing