We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
122
103
45
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
103
45
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgentleman's clubclaw foot bathmasonic lodgeheritage buildingcounter spacechain hotelsnorthern explorerquiet streetnight managerclose to the train stationafter hoursnew zealandlarge roomharbour frontbed was very comfortablecable cara bit tired
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Wellesley for one night at both ends of a week-long trip. The room was clean and comfortable, with old-world charm. The bathroom was incredible, with a two-person shower, two sinks and a large tub. Extras like big, fluffy robes were much appreciated.

The staff are highly professional and looked after us very well. We greatly enjoyed our stay here.

Do be aware that there is only street parking and during the week it needs to be topped up every two hours. On weekends, the car would need to be moved every two hours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sand175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We booked a standard room for two nights, however upon our arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room. The hotel has a unique feel, gentleman's club of yesteryear. Staff were very friendly. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and a pillow menu. The bathroom had been upgraded and had a large old fashioned bath. The hotel is located in a quiet street, business side of Wellington, so very quiet in the weekend. Ver handy and within walking distance to the waterfront and Te Papa and shopping. We did not dine in the restaurant,but had a drink in the bar. The bar area is relaxing. The room could do with an update.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The Wellesley Boutique Hotel was a comfortable and unique place to stay for one night, within walking distance to the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa on Wellington's waterfront. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful regarding on-street parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Wellesley walks both sides of the line between charming and tired, but definitely has a unique atmosphere. Our Classic Double room had fabulous high ceilings, plenty of floor space and storage, and a classy modern bathroom, although the queen bed and general room appointment could use updating, and the pillows were not to my liking. The public areas (lobby, hallways, etc.) are classic 1920s gentlemen's club, but also a bit odd and deserted feeling, like being at Hogwarts during Holidays when everyone has gone home but you. We were provided a pass for 50MB of free internet (beware, this lasts about 20 minutes!) and told where to park ($20 for 24 hours) around the corner. The location is on a fairly quiet side street (although we did hear noises from above), about a 20 minute walk from the main dining/attraction district (Cuba St., Te Papa, et al). No complaints, but no great laurels either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel was a former gentleman's club, and very little has been changed. The signage is all there, and the rooms are labeled with their former inhabitants' names. There is a working old-fashioned elevator. The stairway still has giant pieces of taxidermy and lots of framed old prints. The atmosphere the place creates is excellent.

However, with that old-fashioned charm comes a lack of modern updates you have to be prepared to accept. The bathrooms were the best part of the room--really huge with enormous tubs and lovely Molton & Brown toiletries, fluffy white towels, etc. The bedroom, however, felt a bit shabby, but it all suited the atmosphere, and it was comfortable. The space was a bit stuffy, but we opened the windows and that took care of the issue. We found the wifi to be acceptable.

The location was very central and convenient in many ways, right by the cable car stop, not far from Parliament and government buildings. It was definitely a bit of a government/business district, though, and in hindsight given our preferences it would have made more sense to be in the Cuba Street or Te Aro areas. But we walked over to Cuba Street each day in 20-30 minutes, which was fine. In fact, we really walked all around, so clearly the location was very central.

Overall we would recommend this hotel. It felt like good value and we were charmed by the old-timey atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews