We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wellington Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wellington Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Wellington was delightful. We called several days before our arrival to extend our stay. We were told that there was a possibility we would have to change rooms after our first night to get the upgraded rooms we had originally requested. This actually was the case, but the staff was very accommodating and moved all our belongings while we were out for the day. We had two rooms booked and one of the rooms had air conditioning. The staff attended to it quickly, but there was still an issue. The only negative about our stay was that there was no monetary adjustment for our inconvenience. The hotel is located in a great area. We walked or used public transportation the entire weekend. Very convenient to get to the Interislander Ferry. The restaurant and bar are no longer open so we had to go elsewhere for breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Owner at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
REPLIES TO HOTEL REVIEWS

WELLINGTON CLASSIC
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for the positive comments. It is very encouraging. We have recently changed management and and hope to provide even better service than in the past. We are experiencing some transition difficulties which we are determined to surmount. Your feedback and help is appreciated.
Breakfast should have been available until 9:00am week days and 10:00am weekends. We are extending these hours. We are sorry you were not advised breakfast was available.
Unfortunately being a 13 room hotel we often have difficulties being fully booked when people extend their stay and we do our best to overcome this. We charge the minimum we can to make this viable so we cannot offer discounts in such circumstances. Thank you again for your helpful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    87
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
13
150
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

It was a gentlemens club and still bears all the hallmarks - from the members names on the door of your room to the masonic hall along the corridor and information leaflets about the masons. We were given a room that was dark and quite shabby, with a window that looked onto a tiny chute like atrium that was full of scaffolding - so no natural light. We thought that a half bottle of wine standing with the complimentary drinks was also gratis - only to be charged over $30 for it! I did complain to the very helpful receptionist but got nowhere. Unless you are desperate I think there are a lot better places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Owner at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We acknowledge that the hotel is in need of refurbishment and that is now underway having been delayed because of the major refurbishment of the neighbouring building which is also the reason for the scaffolding and darkness in our lightwell. The lightwell will be vastly improved when that work is completed shortly. In 1922 the hotel was originally a gentlemen's club. Some 22 years ago it was converted to a hotel and 5 years ago a group of Freemasons purchased 75% of the building and built a lodge room in a surplus part of the club's former premises. The hotel shares with the Freemasons and the Club but this should in no way affect the comforts of our guests. We have complimentary tea and coffee and a mini bar with snacks which are chargeable. These are listed on a card and in the compendium. We are glad you found the receptionist helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely old hotel as we wanted somewhere with character. We were in Wellington to celebrate our son's 21st birthday so wanted to spoil ourselves a bit: we were not disappointed! A lot of the modern hotels looked the same online, but the Wellesley turned out to be as lovely as the photos I had seen on the hotel websites. The bed was very comfortable, furnishings tasteful, & the fridge was a decent size. Good selection of teas & coffees. The bathroom was amazing: a bath and a shower, & not what you would expect in a city hotel - very large indeed! I loved the complimentary toiletries, very good quality.The staff were all helpful & friendly, we were shown some of the other rooms, & I would certainly stay there again.
Our sons popped in to visit us, they were also impressed!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely with individual decor, ours was away from the lifts & stairs so very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Owner at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We look forward to your staying with us again if you are in Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is like something from a different age. It is a former gentleman's club and while it has very comfortable rooms it is constrained by it's structure. The staff are welcoming but are only there from 7am till 8pm, and it only provides breakfast. There is major work going on in the building next door which starts early.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidY121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a charming boutique very close to the wharf in the interislander ferry. The staff was extremely helpful and available 24/7 ( we actually called them and were able to get what we needed quickly.) It was within walking distance of the Te Papa Museum and the Wharf where there are many restaurants, bars and stores.

Our room was large and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is certainly not boutique, other than being a slightly dilapidated converted gentleman's club. We got the impression that everything is being done on the cheap, from the very basic breakfast we were offered to the fact that the reception closes at 7pm and you have to let yourself in. The milk in our minibar was not replenished and there was no one to ask to top it up so we had no tea when we got back in the evening. Our room looked onto a very dark lightwell, so we had to keep the air conditioning on for ventilation, which gave my wife a headache. Only advantage of this was we hardly heard the early morning building work next door! While the staff were friendly, the bed was comfortable and the room clean, it certainly does not live up to its billing.

Room Tip: Outside rooms have windows but may also be noisy from local building work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Owner at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
In 1922 the hotel was originally a gentlemen's club. Some 22 years ago it was converted to a hotel and 5 years ago a group of Freemasons purchased 74% of the building and built a lodge room in a surplus part of the club's former premises. The hotel shares with the Freemasons and the Club but this should in no way affect the comforts of our guests.
We have noted your comments and are determined to improve things. As a 13 room hotel we cannot afford the luxury of a 24/7 reception desk but it is staffed from 7am until 8pm daily ( 8am until 7pm weekends). These staff have to carry out all guest services so sometimes the reception desk is unattended for short periods. There is a live - in duty manager at all other times. In each room there is a phone number to contact reception and this automatically transfers to the live in duty manager should anything be required by any of the guests (ie: milk). We are sorry this did not appear to work for you.
The major refurbishment of the neighbouring building is also the reason for the scaffolding and darkness in our lightwell and the noise. The lightwell will be vastly improved when that work is completed shortly.
We closed for major refurbishment last year but were not able to complete it as agreement was not reached with the other owner, the Club. We have now reopened and are undertaking the refurbishment over the course of the next few years without closing although we may have to withdraw one room at a time from service.
We are pleased you found the staff friendly and other aspects of your stay to your satisfaction. We are small, we endeavour and are determined to look after our guests.
We are sorry everything was not to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

To be honest... I loved it here.

The staff were simply lovely. Very friendly and helpful.
The room was teeny tiny (I purposly booked the smallest room they had), but I couldnt fault it - it was clean, fresh, tidy, well maintained, and you could see they pay a lot of attention to detail.

The Wellesley Boutique Hotel was the best part of my two day stay in Wellington.

You need to let go of any regular hotel expectations, and enjoy it for what it is - a hotel built in the 1920's. It creaks... the plumbing is loud... the front doors are locked at 8pm.... but I will return next time I am in Wellington, and I will recommend this hotel to anybody, just for the fun and different experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#21 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Property: Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing