We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Comfortable hotel within walking distance of Te Papa and good restaurants. It's a mostly renovated former gentleman's club (English variety), but some parts, such as the ceiling above the stairs, still need renovating. Staff were friendly and helpful and we'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Interior rooms have no view, actually one of the adjoining building 3 meters away. 50MB of free wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments. The hotel is a Category One Heritage building and we have an ongoing programme of maintenance, improvement and restoration. Unfortunately the stairwell ceiling is a huge cost mainly because of health and safety issues associated with access to safely carry out the work. It is part of our programmed maintenance and we will attend to it as soon as we have funds available. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Regards Kathleen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Friendly staff, interesting rooms and a reasonable price. The hotel shares the building with the Masonic Lodge and the rooms are named after previous members. Wasn't aware of this when booking only advised when I was being shown to my room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. The building is perfect for a Freemasons Lodge Room to be built within it. Having Freemasons using that room should in no way affect the service and comfort of Guests. We thought it an interesting idea to personalise the rooms with names rather than just numbers. Our new web site should be up and running shortly and will have all this information on it. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards, Kathleen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I loved the character of this hotel, beautiful staircase which you can look down from at the top and see the piano player at the bottom of the spiral. I got a great photo of that. It was a bit on the tired side with the decorating, some ripped wallpaper in my room and a hole in the roof going up the stairway. I was woken at midnight due to the radio alarm clock going off in my room & it was a bit noisy in the morning. Had a very nice reasonably priced breakfast in the dining area, staff very friendly Nice and centrally located in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauapatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We are extremely happy that you had a good overnight stay at our Hotel. We are very proud of the building and it's Heritage status. We are sorry about the alarm clock. We have now asked the housekeeping staff to check each day so that should not happen again unless by choice. We look forward to you coming again and bringing your wife. We do have some great weekend deals which you may care to look at.
Regards Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a friend of mine visiting from the UK. He was taking the Northern Explorer railway from Auckland to Wellington and needed a place a place to stay for two nights before flying back to Auckland. Apparently, I chose the best combination for him as he had nothing but positive things to say about the railway trip and the hotel he stayed in Wellington -- which was the Wellesley Boutique Hotel. The location was perfect for someone alighting from the train . The location was perfect for making a walking tour of the Wellington CBD and its surrounds. He stated that the hotell was upscale without loosing the old world charm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Your friend was very lucky to have you organise the accommodation for him. It sounds as though he enjoyed his stay. Thank you for your very kind and positive review. It does encourage us to do our best to give guests a great stay whether on holiday or business.
Regards, Kathleen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hidden gem is close to the city and harbour with plenty of restaurants and attractions close by. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was huge and modern even with its claw foot bath. The hotel exudes charm and character whilst accommodating everything a traveler would expect in a modern city hotel. Loved the staircase, the oak paneling and the quirky old style lift. Whilst I was here on business this time, I want to come back with my wife next time. Love It!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MustangCruise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your positive and kind review. Our staff endeavour to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay. We are proud of our Heritage Hotel and it's features and would certainly welcome you and your wife back sometime in the future. We have great weekend specials.
Regards, Kathleen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

had an excellent stay at this great old-school style hotel. style more like a rod and gun store. very comfortable rooms, beds, bathroom - all upgraded beautifully. Staff very welcoming and friendly, an excellent cooked breakfast and very good coffee. highly recommended and convenient for work in the centre.

Room Tip: 4th floor are higher grade and larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for such a nice review. We will pass on to the staff your comments as I know they endeavor to look after our guests. They also enjoy working in such a lovely building. We hope you can return to stay in the future.
Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A great place to stay in the heart of the capital, warm friendly staff, good breakfast Parking out front in the public car park on the roadside was ok for my meeting mid morning, late check in was also ok

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. That you for your charming comments. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,912 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity Street | Central Business District, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £80 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing