We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite”
Reviewed 4 September 2014

This is my favorite hotel in New Zealand. From the entrance way, the grand piano and the dodgy old lift it screams class. The standard of the food in the restaurant is very high. The wine list is even better. Enjoy a pre or post dinner drink by the fire....gorgeous. the rooms are generous if a little tired, but it's the service that makes the place...go

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that it is your favourite hotel in New Zealand. We hope you will come back again. We have plans to upgrade the rooms and we certainly want to keep their unique characture.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    87
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
13
150
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Lovely unique boutique hotel located in Wellington heritage district, with superb ensuite rooms with TV, phone, minibar, quality towels, dressing gowns and slippers, that are furnished differently & have an individual names. so much better than staying at a large hotel chain. The hotel is within short walking distance to the Wellington's waterfront, main shopping district and goverment centre. Whilist the fining dining is no longer is available, the new 1815 Bar and Cafe offers a good range of 'cafe style' meals, good range of local wines, crafted boutique beers and good coffee. The breakfast menu offers is limited but good quality reasonably priced food including free range eggs (no powdered eggs) and traditional crumpets (worth trying). Whilst Molton Brown toiletries are out, the toiletries that are currently in the room are good and yes, locally made welcome cocolates are coming back. As an experienced traveller, the hotel is my favourite list

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank The_Rail_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
We are delighted that you were pleased with your choice to stay at our hotel.. Like you, so many guests comment about our fantastic location and its "old Charm". We are currently negotiating with Molten Brown so we may have their toiletries back.Thanks for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

You feel like a member of an old elite club when staying in this hotel. You are met by an extremely friendly staff, and are given a room with beautiful interior from the "old days". You feel privileged all the time of your stay there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your kind comments are really appreciated. We look forward to you staying again in the future.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

wow what a find excellent hotel superb rooms with very friendly staff receptionist was really helpful.good location all rooms are furnished differently & also have an individual name. so much better than staying at a large hotel chain.quality towels etc free wifi! also have conference facilities
only 13 rooms so a really boutique hotel! a wake up call for the other hotels in the area! as per comment previously Beatrice on the front desk was wonderful ! even a welcome letter when you arrived> yes maybe toiletries have changed but might be a good comment to change back to Molton Brown! would stay again & already planning that

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discruntled12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. We appreciate comments like yours. We even hope to get Molten Brown back. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed here often in the past and love it because each room is furnished in a different style and decor. So different from the modern hotels where each room is the same as the next. Although affected by the regulations following the Christchurch earthquake we never felt unsafe there. Beatrice on the front desk was charming and from the first communication over the phone to welcoming us to the hotel she was a great asset to the place. My one criticism is that it would seem they have changed hands and some things are different. For instance I always judge a hotel by the toiletries for one. Wellesley has always had Molton Brown which were lovely and spoke of luxury. Now these have been changed to standard hotel ones which was disappointing. Also no longer welcome chocs or biscuits in the room (and we had the top executive rooms). Also there is no restaurant anymore although there is a cafe where you can get food until 8pm. Thus some of the romance has gone. Wifi, although free is short lasting and expensive to buy more.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and unique but you could request a style - romance, modern, gentlemanly etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind comments and especially your compliments regarding Beatrice. All our staff maintain that standard. With regard to the toiietries and the chocolates and biscuits. Unfortunately the competitive pricing of accommodation in Wellington has forced us to reduce costs and charge less. The top flight toiletries and "turn down" service (preparing the beds and leaving a chocolate on the pillow) have been consequently discontinued. We are reviewing that. We are renewing our Wifi contract to provide unlimited free access for guests. Our cafe and bar will provide "romantic/private" dinners for two or more on request. We need to make this service better known to our guests.
Regards Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Without doubt the biggest attraction to this charming little hotel was the staff, they were simply outstanding. The young ladies on reception were incredibly welcoming and thoughtful, this made a huge change from the larger, just a number hotels that I usually stay at in Wellington. A good location for the business end of Wellington, a little bit of a walk to Cuba St. The hotel itself is charming, the rooms are a little larger enabling a bit of a spread out. The bathrooms are fabulously large with great water pressure. I stayed in 401 for reference. A couple of things albeit minor would make a huge difference to the hotel. Firstly the wifi, albeit free by a voucher system is a bit sporadic and I feel needs a bit of an upgrade, data these days is a bit of a necessity. I myself would rather have high speed functional data built into the room rate as is the way off shore. Intermittent data can make working difficult and when I return to Wellington this would have a bearing on my decision. I think new crisp white bedlinen would make a huge difference to the room giving a big makeover for very small outlay but in all fairness its minor and a personal note, the bedding is comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live_it_every_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We truly appreciate your compliments to our staff. It is most gratifying to know that our efforts are so much appreciated by our guests. With regard to the WiFi we are currently renewing our contract incorporating all of your requests. It is great to have the need for this confirmed. We have just renewed our contract for linen and there should not be a problem in this regard. We believe it is vitally important and will be taking it up with our supplier. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Charming Heritage boutique hotel in great location in Wellington. Minutes walk to shopping, waterfront, museum and restaurants..in a quiet street. Friendly , helpful staff. Rooms tastefully furnished and fantastic staircase or quaint elevator to rooms.

Room Tip: There is a fabulous room with huge bathroom, which has a double vanity and a deep claw foot bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We really appreciate all your kind comments especially the "quietness" of your stay. For the last five years our neighbour has been undergoing significant building improvements which inevitably have disturbed our guests from time to time. These thank goodness are now completed and we are once again a quiet and peaceful place to stay.
Regards Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#21 of 46 in Wellington
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Property: Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Address: 2-8 Maginnity St | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing