We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, but needs to improve cleanness.”

Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but needs to improve cleanness.”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We arrived late in the evening and the reception was still open, We found this one of the most expensive hostels in our road trip around NZ, we paid 27pp pn (the rest were around 23). The receptionist was really friendly and helpful, and after a quick visit around the city and no vacancy in other hostels, We decided to stay there for 2 nights. We booked in a shared 6 bed dorm. The dorm was fine, the linen and bedding clean. I little bit humid, but the room had a heater and a dehumidifier.
Walking distance to main attractions and restaurants area.
Although we did not try it because we were carrying our own stuff, free breakfast (coffee, tea, milk and cereals) is an advantage for the backpacker.
The bathrooms were very dirty, mould everywhere, dark and smelly. I rather not to see towels instead of the dirty ones that were there. This is a weak point that they should improve.
Another thing that called my attention and made me feel insecure was what they called "The gipsy corner" (or something like that). My room had a view to this improvised "gipsy camp". My room was just one step away. I did´t sleep with the window open cause I didn´t feel safe. I spoke with long term guests and they told me that I was fine, that nothing ever happened, but still it doesn´t look nice for casual guests.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clari_Mora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    12
    11
    18
See reviews for
2
22
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

this place offers really nice boutique rooms with lovely comfy bed/bedding, but the kitchen/bathrooms are really dirty and gross and you also have to put up with a lot of noise at night.... we stayed on a friday night and there was a party in the corridor/kitchen all night we did not sleep a wink.... depends what you want to do, great for partying, bad for relaxing

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrahaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed at the World Wide Backpackers in December 2010. I had booked a three share room on the phone and was assured that was possible. When I got there at around 1am due to my late flight, I was not only surprised to find the whole hostel partying, but also to be put in a 6-share room instead of the promised 3-share. I don't have to mention that getting to sleep wasn't easy given the noise that went on almost through the night. The next morning I was asked to make a 20 dollar key deposit. When I left 4 days later, however, I couldn't get my deposit back, because the reception was still closed at 9:30 am and I had a boat to catch. When I called and asked for the money to be transferred to my credit card account again I got another promise... - but not the money - luckily I was able to get it personally a month later as I was passing through Wellington again. I met a girl the same day whom I had met at that very backpackers - when I told her about my problems concerning the refund of my key deposit she said:"Oh, he always does that..." - she had been there longer...
beside all that the hostel was quite dirty and as my experience shows unorganized -
I was on the road for 4 months - this was the worst place I stayed at!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesan011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xavier7873, Owner at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
We take a key deposit if you are staying longer than a day. It was unfortunate that the office was closed at 930am as it usually opens earlier. On this day I must have been held up for some unforseen reason. We advise backpackers that if they are leaving early to tell us and we give the key deposit back the night before. We can pay the key deposit into a NZ bank account. This customer gave me a foreign bank account and i cant transfer the key deposit into that. I can send it to an NZ address but she did not give me one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I stayed here for two nights and then left as it was such a nasty place to stay! it was messy, dirty, and so noisy! The bathrooms didnt have hot water at times, and the staff were super unfriendly and not helpful at all. The rooms were basic but really dirty and they all have a very strange smell! Go somewhere else if in Wellington!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlyonedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xavier77, Manager at Wellington - World Wide Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 January 2011
We are a small backpacker that provides a safe and friendly environment for BACKPACKERS we do not cater for those wanting quiet upmarket accomodation. Our guests thrive in meeting others and sharing stories of their journeys together. Yes sometimes when you share a room with people that have camped and tramped you won't get a good smell from their clothing but hey! If you are not looking for quiet, no noise, pay a lot more and you will get it elsewhere! WE enjoy our backpackers company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

This hostel was probably one of the dirtiest I stayed in !
I stayed in a dorm there which was pretty basic but fit with the price. On arrival i had to open the window because of the smell. The ladies were absolutely horrible and dirty at its best !!! Towels were all over the floor (due to flooding when you are taking a shower) and then put back as hand towels !!!
The kitchen is disgusting with bins over filled !
The wi-fi is not really good !
The good thing was the location and the staff is actually really nice!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anyas45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed in a double room here, and the room & bed were actually quite good. They also provided toast, spreads, cereal & milk in the morning for free, as well as two computers with free internet access (though you needed to wait in line for a while, and there's no wifi).


The shared facilities, however, mainly the kitchen & the bathrooms were the worst we saw in NZ. There were not enough cups or glasses available, so when people could get their hands on one, they would then keep it for themselves instead of washing it and placing it on the shelves. We actually saw girls drinking water out of soup plates like dogs because they couldn't find glasses.
Kitchen and the only dinner table are tiny, as well as the tv room.
The number washrooms & showers is also completely inadequate for the number of beds and they're in need of a facelift.


The noise outside our room did stop at a decent hour, but that might've been because people ended up going to a bar (it was a weekend). I can see how it could've been a serious issue for others.

All in all, we were glad to have arrived late and left early.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tblondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This accomodation is cheap and scungey. The toilets and showers are dirty. It is a party house; noisy at night with drunk people drinking on the veranda, slamming doors which make the room and beds reverberate; yelling; sheets and duvet thin and washed out; rooms so small it is difficult to move about – we were in a three bed room and could really only have 2 people standing up and moving about at any one time; there was only two beds (bunk type) with the third bed being a mattress on a ledge arrangement above the door!

The ad says boutique accommodation; crisp linen sheets ! spacious and nicely decorated! Full length mirror! Warm and cosy

This the information I read the internet and also received as an information brochure in my booking confirmation email from you. It is lies!

Shame on them. What a poor reputation overseas travellers must have of NZ. There was a baby staying there last night – no situation for a child. Randoms in sleeping bags on sofas in TV room; non guests wandering around the house at 4am

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#12 of 53 in Wellington
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#9 of 53 in Wellington
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 53 in Wellington
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#10 of 53 in Wellington
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
1.3 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#4 of 53 in Wellington
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington - World Wide Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington - World Wide Backpackers

Property: Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
Address: 291 The Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the smallest backpacker in Wellington. W specialise in looking after our backpackers and ensuring that a friendly environment is had by all. If you are looking to meet people - then look no further!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington - World Wide Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing