We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old and poorly maintained apartment with no inhouse parking facility.”
Review of Quest Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Wellington
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very old and poorly maintained apartment with no inhouse parking facility.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Arrived in Wellington on New Year Eve after 5pm when the Reception has closed. No problem contacting the after hours assistance and locating our apartment. However the off-site parking is a good 7 to 10mins walk from accommodation which is very inconvenient for loading and unloading luggages.

The apartment is old and poorly maintained. Cooking area is very small.
Stayed 2 nights with no cleaning service on New Year Day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasOhML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear JasOhML,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Quest Wellington. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not reach your expectations.

You will be pleased to know that Quest Wellington are currently undergoing a refurbishment program to lift the ambience of the rooms and reflect the stunning heritage building we are so lucky to occupy.

There are two car parks located directly outside the property which are used for unloading guest luggage, unfortunately we can not always guarantee that these will be available due to couriers and other servicing vehicles.

The car park we use at the TSB arena is located 200m away from the property and whilst we understand that parking in Wellington CBD is at a premium, this is the closest car park located to our property. We are fortunate to receive discounted rates through them that are exclusive to Quest Wellington guests.

Your willingness to share your thoughts on your experience at Quest Wellington is genuinely appreciated. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to meet your future accommodation needs, as we would like to provide you with the level of service a guest should expect from Quest Wellington.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    42
    32
    23
    13
See reviews for
29
44
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Quest Wellington at 4.45 pm after a long drive on New Year's day to find that reception had already closed at 3 pm and the front doors were locked. We buzzed the after hours reception and then had to find our keys left on the unattended reception desk, and navigate our own way to the offsite car park a few blocks away. When we arrived in our room there was a letter from Quest management stating rooms would not be serviced on 1 January, but would be serviced on all other days. The next day, 2 Jan, we went out for the day sightseeing around Wellington and returned at 5 pm to find the room had not been serviced. We rang the after hours number for reception (it had closed again at 3 pm) and were informed that the rooms were not being serviced in 2 January either, because of the holidays. The managed said a "new letter" about not servicing rooms on 2 January should have been in our room, but we never saw it. Beware of staying at these apartments over holiday periods as the promised room servicing may not be provided and reception operates very limited hours.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Susan,

We are sorry to hear that your experience at Quest Wellington was not to your expectations. Quest Wellington is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. .

I am really disappointed about the feedback you have raised regarding the letter not reaching yourselves about the servicing on public holidays. I have addressed your comments with the Reception Team Leader, and she has reiterated to her team the correct practice to ensure all important notices must be hand delivered to each room in a timely manner.

Due to the holiday and festive season, the front desk hours are reduced to coincide with this period.

Your willingness to share your thoughts on your experience at Quest Wellington is genuinely appreciated. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to meet your future accommodation needs, as we would like to provide you with the level of service a guest should expect from Quest
Wellington.

Sincerely,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After booking a horrible hotel for a couple of nights while attending Sevens, we immediately looked for other accommodation. Here we were greeted by an amazing older man who was at the reception! Here he helped us out and got us a great room for a great price! The location was perfect and will definitely book this without hesitation! It was clean and modern at a decent price, so happy with our stay!!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questwgtn, Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi Rachael,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive comments. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you back at Quest Wellington in 2014.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Quest Wellington on Lambton Quay in August 2013 for 3 nights. We rented a two bedroom apartment on the 7th floor.

The location is superb and the apartment was spacious, old fashioned but very cosy and warm. The traffic noise was kept out and we loved the view and the sun that the apartment afforded us.

The facilities were all fine and everything worked. The staff were all friendly except on one occasion when my wife rang to get instructions on using the washing machine and met with a very grumpy and unhelpful response. Other than that, the staff were great and very accommodating on other issues I approached them about.

The check out was 10am and we managed an extension until 11am and that might be something that the hotel could consider for the future.

All in all, we loved staying there, you cannot get a better location and the apartments provide everything you need. The wifi worked well and we used the parking option at the nearby events centre underground car park which is available for $20 a day through the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher up seems better. Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngaioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Ngaioman.

We appreciate your feedback concerning your stay here with us at Quest Wellington.

I am disappointed to hear about the service you received on the one off occasion, are you able to contact us at the property to give us more information in regards to the person you spoke with, so we can follow it up?

Really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back later in the year.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Greatest location you could have stay in Wellington. Close to absolutely everything. Room is dated , old style but practical .130 $ / a night isnt so bad. Cable car is 2 mins walk from the hotel. Shopping street is right next door. Bars & Restaurants are everywhere.

Room Tip: Take the G Room on the 6th or 7th or 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wassana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Wassana,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at Quest Wellington.

We look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed overnight on business. Dated interior - not an issue in itself, but a few things were... cut my finger on the loose shower door handle, couldn't see well in the evening as main light bulb was broken and had the noisiest nights sleep ever due to drunks outside. i realise the hotel can't control that the outside noise, but they could consider installing double glazing.
I could have complained, but was very tired from a busy day, and would expect rooms to be checked before each guests stays.
Wellington is not famous for good quality hotels, but this place needs to lift its game, especially if it wants more business travellers.

Room Tip: There are cheaper and better alternatives nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCTHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear MCTHUK,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay here at Quest Wellington. I am disappointed to hear that we were unable to satisfy your expectations on this trip, and can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence at our property. We have a maintenance program in which all breakages are reported and fixed as soon as possible. In this instance it seems that we have failed to do so. For this we sincerely apologise. You will be pleased to know that Quest Wellington is about to start its refurbishment, in which the rooms and lighting will be updated and rooms will be fitted with double glazing.

We hope to have you back when these changes have been completed.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

On arriving at the Quest Wellington and not having been to Wellington for some twenty or more years,to find the only park outside the Quest was a 5 minute park which was taken up by some other vehicle,when asking the man at the desk I got shrugged shoulders,all this while my husband was curb parked,then I was told the car park for the Quest was 400 or more metres down the road,I was shocked,I think these things should be told when you make your booking or when they email you to see if you are still coming,if it had been raining our luggage and ourselves would of been soaked.
It was very noisy and the windows need to be double glazed to stop this and the rooms are getting very tried looking,the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean.
I think the Quest Wellington customer service needs looking at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Hi Sue,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback. Whilst we understand your frustrations with the parking, due to our central city location, parking is at a premium and unfortunately if people do decide to park in the 2 car parks that are available at the front of the property (in your case it was a large truck that took up both parks) we are unable to guarantee availability at all times to drop off luggage and check into the apartment. In regards to our car park at the TSB Arena, this is located approxamitly100m away from our property and we would encourage our guests to drop off their luggage and collect a car parking ticket before parking the car. We are pleased to advise our guests that Quest Wellington is undergoing a refurbishment, we are in the final stages of confirming our design. A part of this process will include double glazing on the windows to reduce the noise from the vibrant city.

We hope you can give Quest Wellington a second chance and would like to see you back here in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Scott Bellingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.0 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#35 of 46 in Wellington
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 45 in Wellington
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Atrium Wellington
Quest Atrium Wellington
#18 of 52 in Wellington
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Property: Quest Wellington
Address: 33 Hunter Street | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing