We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quest Wellington
Ranked #24 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Ok for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Myself and 3 other female friends stayed one night in a 2 brm apartment when we went to Wellington for the Wearable Arts. I picked this place on location and price. 100 m from TSB Arena and $235 incl a very basic breakfast for 4. After reading the most recent review a few days beforehand I was concerned about my choice. I e-mailed the Quest and mentioned my concerns. The service I received was great. Several prompt responses from Rean(not sure what position he holds) and an offer to put us in two separate rooms for the same price so one of us would not have to sleep on a rollerbed in the lounge. We declined this offer but appreciated it all the same. The apartment was very dated but clean apart from two huge scorch marks on the carpet where the heater had obviously fallen off the wall. The bedrooms are very small. The breakfast was orange juice/cordial, single serve box of ricies, two bits of bread and spreads each. We always intended to eat out so it was irrelevant There was a 'mustyish smell' in the corridors and the lifts were slowish. There was a lot of audible street noise all night from the 6th floor. We spent less than 8 hours there. All in all we thought it was fine for a night especially beacuse of its proximity to the TSB Arena BUT this place does not seem to have been updated recently despite what they say and really could use a facelift and then it would be infinitely better.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    31
    21
    13
See reviews for
28
44
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waikato
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and had booked for two nights. While this building and the accommodation could be outstanding given it's location, it is not. The decor is very dated, the state of the apartment as far as cleanliness goes is below average. For instance the curtains are falling apart, you struggle to pull them across the window and they are so filthy dirty they would simply need to be binned rather than cleaned. After our first night of sleeping in the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in we decided to check out in spite of already having paid for the room for a second night. When we went to reception at 2pm and told the girl behind the counter we were checking out, she looked at me as if to say 'that's impossible'. She then informed me "But you are not checking out until tomorrow" to which I replied I had just had the worst night sleep ever and we were moving on to find somewhere more comfortable! The receptionsit said nothing and just sat there dumbstruck. They are a disgrace to a four star plus Qualmark rating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirtenxthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Nice place. Central location so it made my life easy. Service is also very good, it would be good if they had more switch boards in the rooms and also perhaps 1 more heater in Studio Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RidaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We picked up a room here after booking flights for a weekend to Wellington on Grabaseat. Selected a room on Wotif and as this was rated 4 stars and in the middle of Wellington and at a good price, we thought we'd grab it. Had we read a review on here first we might have been tempted to shop around!

However...

On arrival, which was before check-in time, the receptionist advised that the room hadn't yet been serviced (perfectly acceptable to us - we just wanted to drop off bags) and to come back after 12pm at which point the room would have been serviced. No problem, we headed round the corner to Te Papa and came back at about 1pm. We were given keys to the room and headed up (the very slow) elevator to our floor. On entering the room it was clear it hadn't yet been cleaned so we advised the receptionist and said we'd be back in a few hours. We came back at about 5pm and the room had been serviced. Great! We also checked to make sure breakfast was available (something we'd picked up on after reading a couple of reviews) and there was nothing available in our room. I let the receptionist know and then we were given double rations of the complimentary breakfast (cereal, 2 x slices of bread, jams, fruit juice, milk). Problems all sorted.

As it was the weekend of an All Blacks v France match, we expected to have a noisy night as this hotel is in the middle of town - the room was quiet though so no problem there. Quest Wellington is in a great location to explore the CBD area on foot.

The bathroom, shower in particular, could have done with a more thorough clean - the shower head was covered in calcified muck.

So... overall an ok experience and we would stay again but we would look for somewhere else to try first. Not quite a 4 star experience I would say!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elevatedkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Stayed for a long weekend. Had booked a studio but were upgraded to a one bedroomed apartment on the 9th floor. Spacious, clean and comfortable but tired furnishings. Fold up bed and linen bag left in corridor by the lift for the entire 3 days.. Poor lighting. Staff very pleasant and helpful. There for 3 nights but only received continental breakfast packs on the first night. Great location. Had booked on a last-minute booking site so quite good value. Would not pay full price. Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

The room was cheap I admit that but there were no staff on reception at check in or check ou,t there were two porta cots dumped in out lounge room, the shower hadn’t been cleaned since it was installed nor had the floor in the bathroom, there was no plug, the fridge was filthy and as for the so called continental breakfast I would love to know which continent eats what was given to us?

Get a cleaner and get it scrubbed and start again and do inspections on the rooms when they are vacated and spend some money on appliances!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank BertieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2008

Great central location but very very very noisy. Bus lane either side of hotel. The staff were in fact very friendly and helpful. I think the cleaner was non existent. I found sticky lollies under my TV, a toothbrush in my shower and when I changed rooms as I couldn't stand the noise any longer (which they were great about) the soap holder in the shower was 1/2 inch thick with soap and contained someone elses old soap. It can't ever have been cleaned. The furniture was all stained and there wasn't even a mattress protector on the sheets. I would avoid it but if you want cheap and central then it is both of those

  • Liked — staff helpfullness
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank emilywoodentop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#33 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#10 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 54 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Property: Quest Wellington
Address: 33 Hunter Street | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing