We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Wellington
Ranked #26 of 48 Wellington B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2007

The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to good shopping and great restaurants and nightlife. Lambton Quay is an excellent source for New Zealand fashion with many small boutiques in the mid to high dollar range. About a 10 minute walk from the hotel is Courtney Street with many interesting shops and restaurants. Near Courtney Street is Cuba Street--this is where it's at in Wellington! This is where the hip, young (early to late 20-somethings) hang out. Since the hotel was so close to Cuba Street, it was very easy to walk back after a late night out (it's about a 15 to 18 minute walk, or a cheap cab ride). For EXCELLENT Indian food, check out Tulsi. Also, Citron is a MUST, but you have to make reservations because it's very small and they don't turn over tables quickly. It's also quite pricey ($95NZ, price fixed), but compared to similar restaurants in the States, it is a very good value. Citron specializes in a tasting menu and has an outstanding chef. For nightlife, check out Mighty Mighty (on Cuba Street) for a hip crowd (very Williamsburg, Brooklyn) that is pleasantly friendly, unassuming, and not pretentious. You'll have to ask a local where it's at because there is virtually no sign. Also, Matador is a very cool place to have a drink and desert. I highly recommend the white chocolate mousse. I also recommend visiting the Maori Treasures Complex in Lower Hutt--it was a very rewarding experience meeting with a Maori family, seeing their workshops and talking with them one-on-one about their heritage and culture. Overall, the hotel is a good value, but others are right when complaining about the noise. There is no air conditioning, and although you don't really need it, it gets very noisy during the day with the windows open. At night it is pretty quiet, but if you like to sleep in it gets very noisy in the mornings. Also, the queen sized beds are pretty small for two people. If you can handle the noise, it's a fine hotel. The staff were excellent and very friendly. They were very helpful in establishing restaurant reservations and such.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank fonzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    32
    22
    13
See reviews for
29
44
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2006

We were not thrilled during our stay. The staff were very nice and helpful, but they couldn't solve the big problems with the hotel.

It is probably the only hotel in downtown WN without air conditioning. So it was either hot or noisy. Also the beds and pillows were horrible. We had prepaid through ---.com and after the first night I tried to get my money back so we could go stay somewhere else, anywhere else. But they wouldn't give us a refund. We accepted an upgrade to the penthouse, one bedroom suite which was cool and quiet (or rather, could be cooled down enought before we went to bed that we could sleep with the windows closed) The bed was still incredibly uncomfortable. After 3 nights, we drove home exhausted and in pain.

  • Liked — Kitchens in the rooms
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room 9E
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lahmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Marshall, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2005

We were a party of 4 adults. Myself, wife and two daughters in their 20's. We booked a two bedroom apartment at the Quest for a one night stay before boarding the ferry to South Island the following morning.

Apartment was huge and priced less than two double rooms would have cost us at a tourist hotel. Kitchen was well equipped and stocked with coffee and provisions for breakfast. Our apartment had tall ceilings and was funky chic. Had great view of street action.

Quest has a great location. Neighborhood is urban hip and seemed very safe.We walked a block down Featherson St to a lively Belgin Beer pub named Leuven and enjoyed a couple of pints and a set of jazz standards by an excellent house band, De Ja Blues. Check them out if your there on Thursday.

If your looking for a luxery hotel, this is not it. But if you want to be downtown in your own apartment there really is nothing not to like.

Helpful?
7 Thank djhere59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2005

I stayed for a couple of nights in May. The first night I stayed in a studio. It was okay but has definately seen better days. The bathroom was very decent though, large and with a washer/dryer. My only main concern was noise. The hotel is situated bang slap in the middle of the city, so some noise is to be expected. However, the windows are not double glazed and infact one of the windows did not even close properly. The other problem was that there was an interconnecting door which meant I could hear quite clearly the people next door and all that they had got up to that day! The bed was next to this door , so no escape!

The next night, I transferred to a one bedroom suite. furnishings were much the same and look better from afar. Bathroom again , big and clean. The problem with this room was that it was obvioulsy near a lift shaft and everytime someone used the lift, the walls rattled!!!!

At the end of the day, it just depends what you are used to and what bothers you , your budget etc.

I would class Quest as a reasonable budget hotel for those that are not noise sensitive. Always check for special deals............i paid $109 per night, which was enough. I wouldnt personally return to this hotel and if you do, dont pay more.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PassionateTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2004

Stayed here on 2 different occasions recently while travelling around NZ. We had a studio unit for nz$99 per night for the first time and $130 for the next night. It was warm, clean and all we could want for a studio unit. Perfectly located and great value for money, although we did get lucky with the price and it was low season. Would definitely stay here again but for a longer stay than 1 night might use a 1 bed apartment instead.

Helpful?
4 Thank trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
0.0 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#34 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Property: Quest Wellington
Address: 33 Hunter Street | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing