We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee in the city”

Midnight Espresso Bar
Ranked #6 of 52 Coffee & Tea in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best coffee in the city”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

The food here is always beautiful, not to mention the amazing presentation. Great choice of vegetarian and vegan food. Best coffee in the central city for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinytawnykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    61
    16
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cool little spot with great food!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Midnight Espresso is a very fun and hip café on Cuba Street. It does great coffee and juices and its flat white and other ‘non-specialized’ coffees are cheaper than most places, which is surprising. It’s a great place to people watch and it is open quite late, which is a plus. Their counter food is incredible, too. I’ve walked 15 minutes from my house to pick up desserts here numerous times. They usually have caramel slices and chocolate chip cookies, which are very tasty and large, as well as specialty desserts that change by the day like plum cheesecake, carrot cake, or a berry crumble. They serve a lot of gluten-free and vegan options, so if that interests you then this is the place to go!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Favourite Cafe in Wellington”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I make a point of going here whenever I'm in Wellington. They do an amazing Mochachino with cream & marshmellows (better than I have in Auckland) and their food is delicious. We had raspberry and chocolate muffins that were gorgeous!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must try cafe when youre in Wellington”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

This cafe was the first cafe I stepped into in 2001 and still loving it after all these years! The best Ice Chocholate in town. Cream +Ice Cream on top..Yummy! I think this cafe is one of few cafes that sells Vegan stuff. Love their Vegan chocholate cake (always a sold out). I tried their Gluten free + Vegan Brownie today and never dissapoints me! ;). A true Wellington cafe atmosphere if you ever want to try any! ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Favourite cafe in Wellington”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I go to Midnight Espresso about twice a week. I love how you can order whatever you want all the time (pancakes at 5? Sure!) and all the menu food that I have tried has been awesome. My favourites are the tofu gangsta burger (huge and full of veges, grilled tofu, chunky pesto and vegan mayo), and the vegan hashstack (again, huge portion and everything delicious). The vegan cakes are unbelieveably delicious, but the savoury counter food I usually skip as it seems a bit bland - although the tofu buns are awesome. Overall, I would probably leave Wellington if this place closed down! Coffees are lovely too and the staff are a very entertaining bunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crustyfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midnight Espresso Bar also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Midnight Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing