We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good experience.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heaven Woodfire Pizza

Heaven Woodfire Pizza
Ranked #88 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The locals have loved Heaven Woodfire Pizza for five years out in Waikanae.
 So we thought we'd bring our restaurant to upper Cuba Street. 

We believe in using fresh ingredients to create the tastiest dishes. Our menu
 has something for everyone, at prices that are sure to please. So visit us at 247 
Cuba Street and check out the delicious food and amazing atmosphere.until late 8 days a week heavenpizza. co. nz
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall a good experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went in on a Monday night, the crowd slowly started to roll in shortly after 5.30pm. Had the special pizza of the night (margarita) and my sister had a hawaiian pizza. Base was good, nice fresh base. The toppings on the Hawaiian were generous and tasty. My pizza was lacking a bit of flavour in the sauce and needed more fresh basil (the general complaint with almost every margarita pizza). Staff were pleasant, welcoming, friendly, professional and fitted the scene well---exactly what you want when you're dining. Music was good too. A good time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    69
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza, fantastic dessert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My partner and I found this gem right around the corner from us and loved it. Fantastic service and staff, amazing food and my favorite part about the night was the dessert pizza. What an experience! I loved it! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked a birthday party here as it was my friends favorite pizzeria and was really, really disappointed with the whole evening.

First of all, I booked a table for ten and was put right at the back of the restaurant by the door that was constantly being kept open by staff, and we had to get up to close it several times due to cold winter weather!

Table service was awful, our waitress came by three times because we wern't ready to order and every time she had more attitude than the last. We finally got out food, I ordered a large eat pizza which was over seasoned and my friend ordered a large designer which had no seasoning- all of our pizzas had the most minute amount of cheese on each of each, much less than any other topping.

After our pizzas we wanted to order desert but despite calling over the waitress several time, nobody came to serve us. My friend reluctantly went up to our waitress in the kitchen who then went to say: "Im a bit busy right now". A guy who was working in the kitchen took our order instead as I guess he realised how rude the girl was being. We ordered tiramisu and baklava for desert both of which didnt taste fresh, the tiramisu was watery and very very soggy.

The toilets were disgusting, down a dark corridor where you go past laundry being hung to dry and you feel in a completely different place. The toilets had a lot of paper on the floor and although all the writing on the wall added to the decor of the place, it all felt like it was falling apart.

I was really, really, really disappointed with the place and I wont be returning there, or recommending it to my friends, It seems so nice from the outside its a shame the pizzas were over seasoned undercooked and the food was awful as well as the customer service.

I work in a cafe so I know how things are meant to work, and being rude to customers is not on. even if its busy (which it wasnt).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineLalevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
1 review
“A Great Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Spent our last evening in Wellington and decided to go to Heaven Woodfire Pizza. This establishment did not disappoint! Great pizza, beer on tap, fun staff and unique decor. It was definitely a highlight of dining experience traveling through New Zealand.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Great Expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The atmosphere and staff are both warm and welcoming, the seating and decor unique to Heaven. I've been here on two separate occasions, once for lunch and then for dinner. Lunch was nice. We each ordered an inexpensive small pizza each and they were good enough, but not excellent. When you go to a pizza restaurant that isn't a take away you expect perfect, luscious pizza and we walked away thinking that it was okay...

Recently I returned for dinner still holding onto a little hope. I wasn't disappointed with the Margherita pizza. The base was thin and crispy, the flavours were fresh and it wasn't swamped with cheese. Mwah, delicious. My only criticism of the Margherita would be not enough basil.

My friend ordered the Mediterranean pizza which is exactly what it says it is, do not order it with the idealistic dream we had of it. The herb and olive oil covering the base was quite salty and next to the Margherita it was less than appealing.

I would and probably will return, but will in future stick to that beautiful Margherita pizza.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hester_marriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heaven Woodfire Pizza also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Heaven Woodfire Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing