We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel close to the harbour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Wellington

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel close to the harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The InterContinental in Wellington is an excellent hotel for business or pleasure. Situated close to the harbour and lots of restaurants, it has some class and style about it for a modern hotel. The rooms are large enough with all the facilities you need, including ironing board/iron, and the bed and pillow selection all extremely comfortable for a good night’s sleep. The rooms and hotel are spotlessly clean. The AC is silent and not intrusive. Staff efficient, friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very good, do not hesitate to eat there; the seafood chowder and lamb was delicious. The breakfast was among the best I have ever had in a buffet. Highly recommended if you are in Wellington.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review. What a pleasure it was to share such lovely comments with the
team. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities we have to offer; in
particular Chameleon Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental
Wellington in the near future.

Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    419
    149
    43
    19
See reviews for
153
528
97
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and had a thoroughly pleasant stay. The staff were great, and the room reasonably nice. My overall impression was that the place is getting a wee bit tired and could do with a refit.

Good option for the CBD, although it would have had to have been the most expensive hotel breakfast in recent memory. Lots of great options nearby that are far more cost effective and much better quality.

Weird wifi system that means you need a new code every 24 hours and only works on single devices.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markylush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay in
particular our Central location. We appreciate your comments and have taken these on board .We
hope to welcome you back to the Capital and InterContinental Wellington very soon.

Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

IHG hotels are to stay at, very reliable and always consistently offering a high level of service, and great staff

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our five star service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Rooms and hotel are a bit outdated but service is top notch. We were celebrating my partners BD and everyone was just awesome - staff member from Poland was EXCEPTIONAL and we would return anytime. Actually my partner is going back in July so I am really jealous. :)

We stayed on club level and club lounge was sooo relaxing and worth every cent.

The only thing I would change are rooms and breakfast on the ground floor - there was not enough choice for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sport_guy_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your recent review and your lovely feedback on our Club InterContinental facilities.
I am glad to hear you both enjoyed your stay on such a special occasion and may I take this opportunity to wish your partner a Happy Birthday. It’s a pleasure to read such wonderful comments about the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington very soon.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have stayed here on several trips into wgtn- very well situated in CBD.
Top end of budget but worth the experience- good facilities -excellent service and the
staff are helpful,friendly and very obliging.Rooms are well appointed and the added bonus would
have to be a room with a harbour view not to mention the early morning coffee wake up call.Good gym and fitness centre facilities.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms will not disappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for writing a review of your recent experience. We were delighted to see you enjoyed our central location and had the opportunity to experience our facilities during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Capital and InterContinental Wellington very soon.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
259 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a lovely place for a quick meeting over a coffee. Friendly and efficient staff and well prepared refreshments. Comfortable, spacious and we go there often. Thanks for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It's great to see that you love our friendly team and the efficient service they deliver. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear such lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lobby Lounge and InterContinental Wellington very soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed one night in the least expensive room as we stopped over on the way to the South Island. It served this purpose well and was a short (though not inexpensive) cab ride to the InterIslander ferry. The hotel is very convenient to the Botanical Gardens, and you can walk to anywhere of interest in Wellington. Our room was on the small side, but it was comfortable, clean and attractively decorated. We arrived at 9 am and were told that we wouldn't have access to our room until 3 pm unless we upgraded to a more expensive option. This seemed like a scam, since they surely didn't know who might be checking out early. We declined the offer and went out. The their credit, the our room was ready with luggage delivered when we returned at 1 pm. Overall, the service was excellent with a friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeasabee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing