We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION AND VERY GOOD UPGRADED ROOMS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Whakatane,New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION AND VERY GOOD UPGRADED ROOMS”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in a newly renovated King Grand room on the 5th floor last month and were very impressed with the comfort of the bed and room.We particularly like having a sofa or 2 comfortable chairs-so many hotels still only have 1 chair to relax in plus an upright chair for the desk so one person has to sprawl on the bed to be comfortable.The new style safe in the bed side drawer was impressive as was the excellent bathroom with rain shower option as well as the hand held shower.The blind between the bathroom and bedroom didn't prevent light getting into the bedroom which was a nuisance and the room was a little gloomy.Excellent service from the staff except for one occasion when I asked for our car to be brought up form the carpark

Room Tip: the newly renovated rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear RobertChappell,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our brand new Deluxe Guestrooms and enjoyed the in room facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards.,
Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    441
    158
    45
    20
See reviews for
169
571
108
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed in a newly renovated room. The room was billed as "King deluxe" room 518 which we paid extra for. I could not sleep as there were constant creaking noises from the ceiling all night, as if the pipes were expanding and contracting from heat. Investigation in the morning suggested it might be the (old) aluminium windows creaking in the wind. So all the renovations did not solve the problem of a room I could not actually sleep in. They had a "pillow menu" we asked for a lavendar pillow, the pillow arrived 20 minutes later with no lavendar smell, just a basic pillow.

Reception at night asked for our discount voucher them on check in we were asked for it again as they had no record of it from the night before. Instead of calling a cab as requested they called a corporate car which was expensive and the driver unhelpful and deceitful.

Normally I am quite tolerant but this was a bad experience in a "luxury dungeon"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Andrew K

Thank you for your review and insight. It was also great to be able to speak to you personally when you contacted the hotel directly about these concerns. I am glad we got to speak through these personally and thank you for your understanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay when you do return with us as discussed.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

we stayed one night at the hotel as part of a trip around new zealand. booking was difficult at first as reservation connected to the main general reservations office. Never had anybody been more condescending on the phone-I just asked if the extra roll away bed was inlcuded in the price of 600 NZd ( SUITE). Oh my good the lady on the phone acted like I : if you dont have the money for the roll away bed, -stop wasting my time! I immediately canceled the booking and called the hotel directly to complain, howver had a very nice local reservations manager on the phone, who apologized and gave us a nice room with upgrade. So please call the wellington hotel directly, dont mess with the international reservations office.
The hotel it self is nice and location is unbeatable, directly in the centre of the city with waterviews.
It is in need of an upgrade and right now not really a 5 star standard, however renovations are ongoing and by the looks of the pictures should be outstanding. We were on the 9 th floor, club room and whist we could hear a faint renovations noise, it was not bothersome at all.
The rooms are spacious and have partly a lovely ocean view. The club lounge is quite small and the buffet was only limited. In saying that this will be upgraded as well and we had breakfast there..-the most amazing bircher muesli and homemade rhubarb compote! that alone is worth the club upgrade and I normally dont get excited about that kind of food:-)
Beds were comfy and room soundproof and we had a great nights sleep
The staff was lovely and they had a driver taking us to the Interislander the next morning in a brandnew shiny BMW 7 series.
Oh I almost forgot they have a nice pool and spa with small sauna, agauin in need of upgrade but very sunny with a view to the other houses and partly of the ocean- loved it!
We definiteley will make the Intercontinental our choice of hotel in wellington!

Room Tip: club lounge and rooms on 9 th floor- worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estellejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear estellejulie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review; the Team and I were pleased to hear of your kind comments.

I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and had the chance to experience many of our hotel facilities during your time with us; including our indoor pool.

I was disappointed to hear of your initial experience while trying to book through our central reservations office. I am however pleased to hear this was swiftly resolved by our hotel reservations manager and an upgrade was offered for your troubles.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington on your next visit to the Capital City.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at several intercontinental hotels all over the world and this one is definitely up to their usual high standard. Even though the hotel was going through a period of upgrading the facilities our room was extremely comfortable and plenty of storage and hanging space, good bedlinen and 2 soft chairs plus a well placed desk with a good supply of sockets. I was not too keen on the bathroom, this definitely needed an upgrade but in saying that, it had plenty of towels, bathrobes and a good shower.
We ate at their main restaurant for breakfast and dinner, the food at all times was very good and excellent service.
The location is excellent everything you would wish to see within easy walking distance. The concierge guys were very attentive and keen to please, the car was always brought for us within minutes of asking. Definitely a good solid place to stay in Wellington.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Awaywegoagain22,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and the attentive service delivered. Please rest assured I will pass your kind comments on to the Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington on your next visit to New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed the night at the Intercontinental before catching an early morning international flight.
The room was comfortable and the bed was large and the mattress firm.
The bathroom was adequate and a range of toiletries were provided.
However, the mirror fogged up badly.
Good wake-up call and juice and coffee were sent up for us as we wouldn't't be there for breakfast.
Had a great evening meal in the hotel's Chamoleon Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugratNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear rugratNewZealand

Thank you for your great review and we appreciate your comments and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We hope you enjoyed your international trip the next day and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Wellington but The InterContinental is always the must consistant. The standard rooms are comfortable and clean and the indoor heated pool is a bonus for those who like a early morning swim.
The location is convenient to the waterfront and a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantLarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear GrantLarissa,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay with us; in particular our indoor pool and central location.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My sister and I planned a quick trip to Wellington last July (2013) as we were excited to see the Andy Warhol exhibit that was showing at Te Papa Museum. We had previously stayed at the InterContinental a few years back. The location is nice and central (just a short walk to Te Papa and the shops etc). The hotel experience overall was up to the standard as a few years prior. We also dined at the hotel restaurant Chameleon one evening. The entrees and mains were good and decent portions. The buffet breakfast was included in our room rate and we really enjoyed the selection on offer. The breakfast was gourmet with great presentation that is sometimes lacking at other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH201413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am glad you and your sister enjoyed your stay; in particular your experience in Chameleon Restaurant. The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another pleasant visit.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing