We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“A Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed with my family for one night in the month of October last year. It was recommended by my friend who had stayed there earlier. Spacious rooms, clean bathroom with all basic necessities expected of a 5 star property. Food quality superb, staff very polite, room service okay and location of the hotel is also great. overall a very good property. Definitely come back in our future visits. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eda_Creed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Eda_Creed,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us back in October 2013.

The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the 5 star service provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington to experience one of our newly refurbished guestrooms.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    442
    158
    45
    20
See reviews for
169
572
108
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay, the service was excellent, rooms were very large (even for a standard room). We stayed on the 3rd floor which happens to be home to the Gym & Pool which was very convenient.

The features of this hotel really stood out for me were the dual head double shower was amazing, the bed is the most comfortable thing I have ever slept in, location is directly in front of the harbour.

The only negative thing about this hotel I could find is their extravagant Wifi prices... which sounds petty but is absolutely disgusting when you are paying big money to stay in a 5-star hotel you kind of expect free wifi as you can get in a 2-stay hotel. I feel this is daylight robbery, they charge you because 'they can'. Luckily we found out if you sign up to a IHG rewards program it becomes free... this isn't openly advertised anywhere.

Room Tip: - If you love the pool and the gym, stay on level 3 - WiFi prices are VERY expensive, but it is fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear ValFleur,

I was delighted to read your review and would like to thank you for sharing your kind feedback.

The Team and I are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay, including our guestroom features and central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location and friendly, helpful staff. We had a room in the recently refurbished wing with a view of the harbour. The room was stylish and comfortable with a great King size bed; lovely bathroom and shower. The internet connection in our room was poor and very slowwww. May have been because I was connecting through my iPad but I doubt it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear MJD48,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished guestrooms and appreciated the hotels waterfront location.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding the Internet connection; please rest assured I will follow this up with our provider.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel gave us one of our best Hotel Experiences over the last 20 years. We were upgraded to one of the newly refurbished rooms - stunning, bed so comfortable, bathrooms brilliant, amenities 5 star. Our best compliments go to the three girls who worked the Club Lounge on the two evenings we were in house. They were outstanding in every way - being from the Hospitality Industry ourselves we were thrilled to come across such attention to detail, professionalism and also their knowledge of their environment. The Hotel Restaurant was also outstanding.
The location is brilliant - you don't need a car, wonderful restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions within walking distance. We will definitely be returning to this hotel and recommending it to others

Room Tip: If you are able to request one of the recently refurbished rooms and are allocated one you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MADAFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear MADAFK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us; in particular the professional service delivered. Please rest assured I will pass your wonderful comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay on your next visit to the Capital City.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is decent as you would expect for a 5 star, and the location was excellent.

However, there were a couple of things that really annoyed me. The first was wifi - they wanted to charge a fortune for it! Why top hotels feel they can do this when every other place in the world will give it free I do not know. As a top tip sign up to the IHG club before going and you should get it free.

The other poor thing was check-in. We arrived at 12:30 and they said our room was not available (fair enough as check in is officially 3) but they would ring the maids to get it done ASAP and then phone our mobile when it was ready. We went to lunch and waited for the call. No call arrived and we went back at 2:45 to enquire and it still wasn't ready. They swapped us in to another room at this point, but really I would expect much better.

Re car parking - the cheapest option at the hotel is the valet (they mention under the building on the website but that is a rip off). This is still expensive, but probably your best bet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Mark G,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving our property a review. It is good to know that our location was suitable for your needs. Please accept my apologies however, if the charge for Wifi was a disappointment and if your check-in experience was sub par. These points that you have raised are noted and will be addressed with management to consider for improvements needed in our efforts to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Best Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton / Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I visited for a weekend just recently, and thoroughly enjoyed the location, service and total experience.
While visiting we visited the Weta workshop and Parliament buildings.
We recommend all travellers to closely look at what the Hotel Intercontinental has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanF369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear AllanF369,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

I am delighted you and your wife had a wonderful experience with us during your weekend stay; and had the chance to experience all our Hotel and Capital City has to offer.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family for Easter and upgraded to club lounge. Was worth it for valet parking, lounge and internet. Could take one guest for free to lounge for drinks and canapés from 530 to 700. Beds very good, staff all very helpful and Newley renovated rooms excellent for hotel. Like how they have removed baths and replaced with big showers. Will stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank plumb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Plumb209,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter break.

Please rest assured I will pass your lovely feedback onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing