We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best bed ever”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the renovated rooms, the upgrade cost $80/night but the room was lovely. The hotel is centrally located, the ongoing renovations are noisy at times but obviously necessary.
The bed and pillows were fantastic...true comfort. There were a couple of design faults perhaps in the otherwise lovely bathroom. There was no shelf in the shower to put soap or shampoo so if you didn't want it on the floor (eww) then you needed to open the glass door to use the vanity shelf. A bit chilly during winter. Also the shower door didn't seem to be hung properly and banged when closing and hit the toilet when opening. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elvigray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    436
    154
    44
    20
See reviews for
165
561
104
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked into the InterContinental as it was in the heart of the city and we had been there before, we had to go to a function at Dockside Restaurant and it was perfect as we only had to walk 10 mins to the Venue .
The Hotel is under renovations so we really could not complain except the ground floor entrance with the very stiff manual doors to get in was hard work ! .The staff were excellent at all time and our car was carefully parked for us and my wife took the booking and we went to the 4th floor to our room.
The view was great but the old worn out room is sure need of renovations which is what they are doing at the moment,the only thing we found was 1..there was not enough milk in the fridge for our tea and the shower is like going back to 1970 !.The bed was excellent . We just felt because we were paying top dollar for this hotel and the condition of the rooms etc ., they could have at least given some sort of discount considering it was like staying in a 1970's Hotel. The prices for food and wine ( While under renovation ?) we felt were far to expensive .
We look forward to coming back one day when the the Old Hotel is back to better standard .

Room Tip: Please consider the conditions and adjust your prices while renovating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaipunaOhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear WaipunaOhau,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review from your recent stay.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the service provided by our Team; please rest assured I will pass these kind words on.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, as you mentioned the extensive refurbishment of the 25 year old hotel is nearly concluded and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Beautiful beds and great bathrooms. The concierge was super helpful and booked us restaurants.
I used the gym a couple of times too which was nice to do, although being so close to the waterfront, you're be mad not to run/walk around it instead of an indoor gym. Such a beautiful harbour.
the pool looked lovely, even though I didn't get in it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jane C,

Thank you for your kind review.

The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay; in particular our waterfront location and attentive service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

People had told me this was a nice hotel but I was not prepared for 1) the service from the moment the car pulled into the hotel someone took my bags , told us to check in which was effortless by the time I got up to my room bags there .



2) room service delicious well priced and speedy


3) bath lovely bed so comfortable

Well IHG you have a new longtime customer

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mitchwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Sometimes there's nothing better than a weekend away, without actually going away - no travelling, no compunction to sightsee, yet no housework either. The refurbished InterContinental (not quite finished - the ground and first floor are still being done) has returned it to being Wellington's top big hotel. Last visit in Feb we stayed in a deluxe spa room on the 5th floor, with Club lounge access. It was a nice large room, with a great spa bath, and the old lounge was nice but aging (service was excellent as usual). This time is was a 'basic' Club room and the lounge was all-new. No complaints about the room at all - discounting the tenants of the ANZ building on Featherston Street who left entire floors fully lit all weekend - no wonder bank fees are outrageous!). The hi-tech cons are fun - electric drapes and bathroom/room divider glass, and the big Samsung TV with proper HD content is far better then the old analogue TV.

The new lounge is a great place to be, with a good wine list (now a mix of brands rather than all Ata Rangi) as before. The food is a step up, and no doubt due to the in-lounge open kitchen where the chefs certainly know there stuff - afternoon tea, canapés with evening drinks, and breakfast were all very good. The eggs benedict were good enough the first morning that we repeated it again the next - and my sides of bacon and rosemary mushrooms from the top-of-the line bain marie made for the perfect brunch. Staff (both lounge and housekeeping) were all fun, friendly, efficient and professional, making you feel immediately at home. Special kudos to the Club lounge's Karen who remembered us from our February visit, although that could have been my copy of World of Fine Wine magazine - I was reading an earlier issue then. More likely though that she's great at her job.

The only two quibbles are those damn lights from across the street (the electric drapes don't go quite far enough to block the light in our room (813)), and the latte this morning could have been hotter. Will we return?

Definitely.

Room Tip: As with any hotel - away from the lifts is best. And an upgrade to the Club floor is worth it - espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here on business and quite frankly I was blown away with the quality and finish of the renovated rooms on level 7 and the funky styling and great service in club lounge. It was the best I've experienced in all my recent travels. On a personal note I'd like to thank Mattius and the team for their welcoming hospitality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here during renovations. They have it all under brilliant control and it is very well organised, it didn't impact on our stay at all. We were in one of the newly renovated rooms and it is just gorgeous. Very well presented, great comfort and elegant too. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. They really made our stay here magical and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, IHG, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing