We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$160
PricelineUS$159
InterContinentalUS$160
Hotels.comUS$160
travelup.comUS$177
TravelocityUS$160
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,020)
Filter reviews
2,020 results
Traveller rating
1,118
590
214
65
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,118
590
214
65
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge high tea concierge staff an upgrade new zealand harbour view valet parking location is excellent buffet breakfast central location te papa lambton quay ihg chameleon gym nz foyer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 2,020 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

The Intercontinental Wellington was an exceptional hotel to stay in.
The staff were so professional and went over and above to make our stay five star plus.
Every staff member greeted us with a welcoming smile and nothing was too much to ask for.
Our room was luxurious with a beautiful view of Wellington harbour.
The room facilities were exceptional and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud.
The location was so fantastically central to this fabulous city.
Thank you Intercontinental Wellington team for making us feel so special on our recent visit. We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank meganmP2359FN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICW1, Administrator at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Dear meganmP2359FN,

Thank you for your kind review.

The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us very recently.
We are delighted to read you you enjoyed your time here.
We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.
We hope you will visit us again.

Warm regards,

InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019 via mobile

This hotel is in the heart of downtown Wellington. The lobby area is spacious but nothing grand or formal.

The check-in process was okay but the attendant who checked us in wasn’t the best hotel employee. He didn’t give us the hotel WiFi password or any other added information that check-in attendants at 5-star hotels typically provide. He also just gave us one door key — we usually get two keys. He seemed to be rushing.

The room was reasonably good but nothing special.

This hotel had the feel of American corporate use hotels — generic, standard, geared toward business travelers.

This is an okay place if your hosting a conference for office workers from different countries, and you need a standard block of hotel rooms to accommodate the whole group. This is not a great place if you’re on vacation and you want the local charm or feel of the location to be present. Honestly, this hotel had the same vibe as any nondescript airport hotel in Nebraska or Ohio where you’re forced to stay if your flight is cancelled.

There was nothing exceptional that made it worth 5 stars.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ChefPulitsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICW1, Administrator at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2019

Dear ChefPulitsir,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us very recently.
We are glad you liked the location and the spacious lobby area.
However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit and for not living up to your expectations regarding
your check in experience and your overall stay.
Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on.
We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2019 via mobile

Arrived after a long flight and we were very lucky to have been upgraded to a beautiful room with a jacuzzi bath! The views were beautiful over the harbour and the room was just wonderful, it was fantastic to be able to rest after a long journey across from London.

I thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and the sauna to help unwind. The location is great and really close to the city centre in Wellington. Nothing was too much for the staff and the hotel boasted the most awesome breakfast options! Definitely a memorable visit! Thank you to Daniel, the front office manager for making the stay such a special one!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DoviD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICW1, Administrator at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019

Dear DoviD3,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We apprecaite you choosing to stay with us very recently.
We are delighted to read you had a magnificent stay here.
Please know your feedback is extremely valuable to us.
A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.
We hope you will visit us again.

Warm regards,

InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019 via mobile

While good, wasnt blown away and found the hotel somewhat tired but well located and a safe 'known' option; gym disappointing and would have expected better. Highlight was the comfortable bed which but was disappointed overall.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Shifty324
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICW1, Administrator at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2019

Dear Shifty324,

Thank you for bring this to our attention.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us whilst in Wellington.
We are delighted to read you liked the comforatble bed.
However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your visit and for not living up to your expectations regarding
the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions, gym experienced.
Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.
We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2019

This hotel is exceptionally welcoming. Even if systems of the IHG group are down, the reception does everything to solve issues and make you feel welcome. We had a wonderful stay. The club is very much recommended as well.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICW1, Administrator at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2019

Dear jpltraveller,

Thank you for your kind review.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us.
We use feedback such as yours, to continuously make changes to improve our guest experience.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews