We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Whangarei
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here during the off season at a really good price. The room was fairly small but clean and had all the amenities, including en-suite. The main lounge was gorgeous with lots of character. We stayed in one night for dinner and that was delicious, well presented and the service was good.

On one occasion we were overcharged at the bar but the barman, who was French and maybe unused to the currency was apologetic and corrected the matter.

The hotel is only minutes walk into the centre of Wellington.

Overall, we'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owhiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, Sales and Marketing Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hi Owhiwa, many thanks for taking time to place your feedback on Tripadvisor for the CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington. We are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the dinner at the restaurant. Our staff take great pride in the service they deliver and I will pass your lovely comments on to the rest of the team. Sincerest apologies for the overcharging at the bar. Thank you for understanding and for letting us know so that the matter could be promptly corrected.
Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Ania Truman, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    246
    174
    49
    33
See reviews for
64
252
86
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

the room was very small with 2 twin beds, a minibar, small desk and chair and tv with 8 channels. i had a room with no view.
it was very efficient and fine for sleeping and convenient to tourist sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, Sales and Marketing Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hi whomever, thank you very much for submitting a review on Tripadvisor for CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in Wellington soon. Safe travels!
Kind regards,
Ania Truman, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here two nights on a business trip. The location in Cuba Street is great, near all the restaurants and bars. The room was breathtakingly small and basic, and the windows shook when the wind blew hard, as it tends to do in that city. However the room was clean and everything worked. The 30 minutes of free wi-fi time is mean in this day and age. This is a convenient and reasonable place for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, Sales and Marketing Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hi geoffrey100, thanks for taking the time to write a review for CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington. We love being situated on Cuba Street and are thrilled you enjoyed the location too. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Ania Truman, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel features old style charm but infused with the vibrancy of Wellington. Handy to Cuba Street, Courtney place, ferries, and a short walk to Lambton Quay.
Staff were really accommodating particularly since we arrived off a late ferry crossing. Rooms were clean and comfortable, perfect for our stop before heading home. Ensuite bathroom suited our needs - son was impressed with the water pressure in shower.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, Sales and Marketing Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hi fwharry, thank you for your lovely feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the location of the hotel, and the helpfulness of the staff. It's also great to hear your son was impressed with the water pressure in the shower! Hope to see you back in the capital soon.
Kind regards,
Ania Truman, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great location especially if into vintage! Loads of bars, restaurants and cafes. A short walk to everything. Room was clean, smallish but not cramped. The staff were most accommodating. Breakfast was very reasonably priced as was the bar and snacks. Free internet access for the first half hour was a bonus. The building was very well restored and provided a comfortable welcoming environment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, Sales and Marketing Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Hi oztraveller53, thank you for taking the time to submit a review for CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington. We really appreciate your positive feedback and I will pass your lovely comments on to the rest of the team. We hope to see you back here in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Ania Truman, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I read a number of reviews on the site before booking my stay and personally ound the hotel to be cheap, comfortable and exactly what I was looking for (for around $100/night).

The room was crisply white, clean, and came with the standard free bathroom supplies and tea/coffee/milk. I asked for a room in the back of the hotel (rather than over Cuba) and had a quiet stay. The shower had good water pressure etc. Everywhere that I needed to be that weekend was within a 15-20 min walk.

I particularly recommend the tequila bar across the road for margueritas & hot cheesy dip and Midnight Espreso (next to the tequila bar) for breakfast.

In terms of negatives, the room is small (think Paris) although the high ceiling helps to off-set this. It was fine for one person on a weekend trip but might not suit a couple on a long-stay.
Also, they have broadband in the rooms but sadly no wi-fi.

As a plus, there a pool facilities etc. available for use in the hotel next door (although I didn't get around to using them).

All in all, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, Sales and Marketing Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Hi NixieNZ, thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review on the CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again in the future.
Kind regards,
Ania Truman
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Ideal location for seeing the sights of Wellington, located on Cuba Street, with secure parking at the rear for $20 charge.

We stayed in a small double room with ensuite shower, tv, kettle, hairdryer, iron and iron board, wifi available. Room was clean and comfy and ideal for an overnight stay.

Good value for money

Check out Southern Cross bar restaurant around the corner!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Hi di73
Thank you for your reviews of CQ Hotels Wellington. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your recent stay and dining experience close by the hotel. The team takes great pride in the service they deliver and I was pleased to share your comments with them. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington again soon.
Sincerely
Olivier Lacoua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
671 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Wellington

Property: Comfort Hotel Wellington
Address: 213 Cuba Street | Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington exudes character and charm and is listed with the NZ Historical Places Trust. Blending timeless and classic architecture with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort, our rooms are cosy, flexible and have various bedding configurations to suit your style of travel. Equipped with modern ensuite bathrooms, LCD TV's and tea and coffee making facilities, these rooms offer a charming stay ideally located in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street. Complimentary Wi-Fi now included in the room rate. With shared onsite facilities, both hotels (Comfort & Quality) have access to the heated indoor swimming pool and spa, roof top sun terrace, fitness room, bar, restaurant, cafe, self-service laundry (charges apply), onsite car parking ($25 per night) and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wellington
Wellington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing