We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation in city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
tauranga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value accommodation in city”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our family of three stayed in the Comfort Inn for three nights starting at the end of August.
We had a junior suite, with two bedrooms, which was ideal for our needs. The suite featured a full kitchen and a large and comfortable lounge/dining area. The beds and linen was high quality, and the two ensuite bathrooms were nicely fitted out.
It is an older hotel but well maintained, clean and the service we encountered was very good. There is a pool and spa pools available, and we had the bonus of a cute spa bath room just down the hall, which featured a nice outlook. The hotel has an inviting bar/restaurant area. I would be happy to recommend this hotel for a short stay or longer Wellington holiday. The location linking to Cuba Street worked well for us. Cuba Street has a great variety of eateries and bars, and we were just a 10 minute walk down to the central city and great waterfront area. The hotel has car parking available too. We paid $195 a night, which was good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davey10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear davey10000,
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities in the Junior Suite to your liking. We look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you again soon!
Kind Regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    243
    167
    45
    32
See reviews for
62
245
84
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is our second stay here & this time we introduced friends to it. Everyone was very impressed with how close it was to the city centre & it was an easy walk around the city from here. We walked to parliament & Te Papa from here & there are some great restaurants very handy. The famous Logan Brown restaurant is just across the road. Cuba street is one of the main party streets & is just one block away from Courtenay place the other main party area.

Our friends are going to stay there again for sure & the next time we are in Wellington we will stay here again. The rooms aren't large but they are very comfortable & very clean we can't fault it. The building has some lovely period features like sash windows & wonderful wooden banisters as it was built in the 1930's. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Angela C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your continued loyalty to the hotel. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington hotel in the near future. Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier
Olivier LACOUA
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I got a pretty good price ($125 per night for a double) and at this price this hotel was reasonable value. The double rooms are tiny, and when it says 'double' it means a double bed. But lovely white sheets and extra blanket and pillow supplied. High ceilings help avoid a cramped feeling. There is no full length mirror, you have to make do with the bathroom mirror, which seems a bit unnecessarily frugal, hotel proprietors! There is a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, kettle, but no fridge, so no buying a carton of milk for extra cups of tea. Heater is a wall radiator which only operates when you're in the room so could be a bit chilly in winter. Doesn't seem to be any aircon.

The bathrooms are very clean and have lovely white towels, but they aren't luxurious by any means. Shower only, no bath. No hand towels, only face cloths. If you swim you'll need to use your bath towel. The pool and hot spa are in the quality hotel next door.

I didn't use any of the restaurant facilities, there are so many great places to eat close by it wasn't necessary.

Noise. My room was initially near the lift and it was a little noisy. I asked for a room change and got a very quiet (and larger) room with no difficulty at all. I found the staff very helpful and efficient.

Location is not massively central for tourism. It's a 5-10 minute walk to civic square or Te Papa, gentle hill. A 15 -20 minute walk to Queens wharf or lambton quay. You could easily get buses at Manners st though.

All in all, I found it a pleasant but not luxurious hotel. If, like me, you like simplicity and don't mind small spaces, it will suit you fine.


Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kjg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear kjg66,
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. I am very pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking. We always enjoy hearing from our guests and your thoughts and feedback assist us to improve all our guests' experience.
I look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you back at CQ Hotels Wellington in the near future! Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nrew Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I booked in July two twin rooms for four people to be use in OCtober at the double of the normal price since it was the big WOW week.We are four woman which were looking fordward to a relax weekend.For this booking I expend hours of search since every time I looked all hotels seem to only have doubles o queens beds but we want it twin rooms.As we arrived to the hotel we were told that Wotif only booked double rooms for us, not even queens.At this point was no way back since everything was fully book.Two nights,two double rooms at the costs of $1054,what a desappoinment.When we got back home I contact Wotif, we did get a small refund ,but that's not the case.I will be very carefull to book in this place again.

Room Tip: Reconfirm your booking before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Martha D,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your stay in our hotel.
I appreciate you sharing your concerns in regards to your booking requirements that you made via another booking channel website. It is very unfortunate that you experienced such trouble on this occasion, please accept my sincerest apology on behalf of our hotel. I will investigate further about the issue that you have raised directly with this website.
In the meantime, please feel free to contact us directly on our hotel website for any of your future booking requirement and we will take care of your reservation personally, the team will be able to assist you with any of your special needs.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel in a very near future.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Perfect for what we wanted, which was economically priced, central and clean. Last year stay in the other part of the hotel (Quality inn part) which is much, much nicer. However all we needed was bed, shower and the staff on reception were courteous and friendly. Small room, only 3 channels on our TV (Australian sky news, sky sport and one movie), missed the usual Kiwi channels, but hey we weren't there to watch TV!

Room Tip: I was surprised how quiet our room was being on Cuba street, but it was a weekday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayofplentyweddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear bayofplentyweddings,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for giving us such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my team and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in the Capital. Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind Regards,
Olivier LACOUA
General Manager
CQ Hotels Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed there for one night to attend a work function - the room was clean and tidy and obviously the convenience was a big plus. reception was very friendly and helpful. the only thing was the earlier then expected wake up call with a quake in the morning

Room Tip: don't have breakfast here it is over priced - go down to any of the many good cafes near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonnie_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Good afternoon Sonnie_dee,
I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the CQ Hotels Wellington. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I have also taking note of your comments in regards to the price for breakfast; while options are available to all our guests, these should have been highlighted to you during the time of your check-in. The breakfast menu has a wide range of options starting from only $15 for an Express Breakfast, up to $27 for a Full Breakfast Buffet. Adjoining to the restaurant is the CQ Café where you can find multiple a la carte breakfast options starting form only $8.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Please contact us directly on our website www.cqwellington.com or info@cqwellington.com and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights, and found it perfect for our needs. It was affordable, and the location was great. The rooms are small but it was all we needed, and the staff were friendly and helpful. When my swipe card wouldn't give me access to the pool they happily gave me a new card. Overall a great place to stay for a weekend in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatNZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Good afternoon NatNZ12,
Gracious greetings from Wellington! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future! Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,568 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Wellington

Property: Comfort Hotel Wellington
Address: 213 Cuba Street | Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington exudes character and charm and is listed with the NZ Historical Places Trust. Blending timeless and classic architecture with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort, our rooms are cosy, flexible and have various bedding configurations to suit your style of travel. Equipped with modern ensuite bathrooms, LCD TV's and tea and coffee making facilities, these rooms offer a charming stay ideally located in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street. Complimentary Wi-Fi now included in the room rate. With shared onsite facilities, both hotels (Comfort & Quality) have access to the heated indoor swimming pool and spa, roof top sun terrace, fitness room, bar, restaurant, cafe, self-service laundry (charges apply), onsite car parking ($25 per night) and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wellington
Wellington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing