We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slowly going downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights which was one too many. The room was VERY small and pretty uncomfortable for two. Not enough towels, and there were stains on the sheets and towels. A plug point that didn't work and a loose showerhead pointed to maintenance work needing done. Tea and Coffee making facilities were also very poor. This place was a lot better a few years ago. Still, great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fragglerock1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Fragglerock1981
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you noticed, the CQ Comfort Hotel is a prestigious 3 Star Plus Qualmark heritage building dating back to the 1800s. The hotel provides all of the basic necessities, comfortable and well appointed rooms in the middle of a very unique and vibrant heart of the Capital, Cuba Street. Our economy rooms are compact, but are definitely a good option for budget conscious travellers
I have taken careful note of your comment in regards to the stains that you noticed on the linen and the loose showerhead; please accept my sincerest apologies. Your comments will be reviewed with the team.
Again, I really appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for two nights. We picked it for its price and location. The hotel is very well located near the centre of Wellington and only 15 min drive to the airport. The rooms are modern and clean, with large shower rooms. The beds are a little small but you can live with it for a few nights. It can get noisy on Cuba street so ask for higher floor and to be at the back of the hotel. There is no air con which did mean you need to keep the windows open at night which does add to the noise.
They also have washing rooms of each floor, only $2 per go. And a nice spa bath room which you can use (ask reception for key).
They also have parking at $25 a day, but it is secure and right next to the hotel.
Overall we enjoyed our time, it was good value and didn't disappoint us. Perfect place to stop off in Wellington if your budget is stretched.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Venetiar,
Gracious greetings from Wellington! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future! Please feel free to contact us directly on our website or send an email and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Interestingly this appears to be two hotel blocks, one an economy stack of rooms, the other an stack of higher quality suites but both sharing the reception, bar, restaurant and pool. We booked four nights in the economy side and found the room to be of a good standard, small but clean with no a/c (the standard in NZ). Unfortunately we found being on the first floor front much too noisy after midnight mostly due to the fabulous location near the top of Cuba Street. Next morning we asked to move and got a larger room (322) on the top floor at the rear of the hotel with an extra window for really good through ventilation and very little noise.. The transfer was done while we were out without any fuss at all. The hotel breakfast, buffet style was magnificent with no limit on how much you ate: so much so that each day we only needed "a flat white and a stickie" for lunch! We had a complimentary swim in the 12m pool and lazed in the hot tub with no one else in sight. It is in a fabulous location for exploring the city centre on foot and has an old world charm that sets it apart from the competition inits price range

Room Tip: Room 322 top floor rear - a long walk down the corridor but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblerBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear RamblerBournem,
Thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience at the CQ Hotels Wellington and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel facilities. The team takes great pride in the service they deliver and I was pleased to share your comments with them.
I look forward to welcoming you again in a very near future, please feel free to contact us directly on our website and we will organise your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked this hotel for three nights and was quite reasonably priced.

Not too much to say, the room was quite small, couldn't really spread out, but the bed was comfortable and the shower was really good! There was no minibar though, and not much milk was provided for your tea and coffee.

Great base point to stay in Wellington and close to some good restaurants and walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: Take note if you book the 'Quality Hotel' or the 'Comfort Hotel'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food_travellers_LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Food_Travellers_LS
Thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience at the CQ Hotels Wellington. I am glad to read that you have found our location a great base point to stay in Wellington and close to some good restaurant. As you noticed, the CQ Comfort Hotel is a prestigious 3 Star Plus Qualmark heritage building dating back to the 1800s. The hotel provides all of the basic necessities, comfortable and well appointed rooms in the middle of a very unique and vibrant heart of the Capital, Cuba Street. Our economy rooms are compact, but are definitely a good option for budget conscious travellers.
During your next visit in Wellington, you may consider to reserve a room into the adjoining CQ Quality Hotel Wellington, 4 Star Plus Qualmark, all suites are very spacious with Queen size beds and equipped with modern kitchenettes.
I look forward to welcoming you again in a very near future, please feel free to contact us directly on our website and we will organise your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was central and there was lots of great cafés and restaurants close by. The rooms were an ok size. Free wifi for every night of our stay, but it seemed to drop out a fair bit. Parking was $25 night. The pillows were very uncomfortable and lumpy, we woke up both mornings with sore necks.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JacobSK92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Jacob,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
I was very disappointed to read that you noticed that the pillows in your room were uncomfortable and the internet access was dropping in and out. Your feedback has been forwarded to the Executive Housekeeper and the maintenance department for their review and action. Thank you for bringing this to my attention
Jacob, I appreciate you sharing your concerns and am looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us directly on our website or send an email and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My son (11) and I stayed one night recently. My mum had stayed with him before and both had quite liked it. The decor is old and dated and everything is showing signs of wear. This is made up for though by the fantastic location, the heart of Cuba St, handy to everything. The issues I had were that when we arrived there were shards of glass in the bathroom near the shower. It looked like someone had dropped a glass on the floor and the room had not been cleaned properly. I called and someone came up to see to it but she just kept saying she didn't see how it had happened as the shower door was intact. Quite frankly I didn't care if she could figure it out or not, the room had obviously not been properly cleaned. The other issue was that the lift is very noisy and we had to listen to it going up and down every time someone used it. Apart from those two things I think the price reflects what you get, and I feel that if we had been further from the lift and without the glass on the floor I would have rated this place a 3.5-4.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Cuba St side, and well away from the lift!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interpretergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Interpretergirl,

Thank you for taking the time to tell me about your experience at the CQ Hotels Wellington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I was very disappointed to read that you noticed a poor state of cleanliness in the bathroom. We strive to ensure that all rooms and bathrooms are checked prior to our guest’s arrival as a quality control measure and in this instance it seems not to have been the case. Your comment has been forwarded to the Executive Housekeeper and her team reminding them to be more vigilant in quality management to minimise the risk of this reoccurring in the future.

I have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the state of our rooms and would like to inform you that we are in the process of finalising our refurbishment budgets to ensure that the quality of our product remains at a consistent high standard.
As you noticed, the CQ Comfort Hotel is a prestigious 3 Star Plus Qualmark heritage building dating back to the 1800s. The hotel provides all of the basic necessities, comfortable and well appointed rooms in the middle of a very unique and vibrant heart of the Capital, Cuba Street. Our economy rooms are definitely a good option for budget conscious travellers.

On your next visit, I would be happy to assign one of our quieter, east-facing rooms and away from the main lift upon request.

Once again, I appreciate you sharing your concerns and am looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us directly on our website or send an email and we will take care of your reservation personally.

Kind regards

Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was here for a conference last week and had an amazing stay! The staff are absolutely fantastic, led by an incredible manager, Olivier - love your work guys!
Brilliant location with spotless comfortable accommodation, perfect for a good nights rest after a busy day in the boardroom!

I look forward to my next trip to enjoy more of your great hospitality.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambassador_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Gracious greetings from Wellington! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay and conference with us. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future!
Kind regards
Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
683 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 47 in Wellington
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,799 reviews
0.8 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Wellington

Address: 213 Cuba Street | Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington exudes character and charm and is listed with the NZ Historical Places Trust. Blending timeless and classic architecture with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort, our rooms are cosy, flexible and have various bedding configurations to suit your style of travel. Equipped with modern ensuite bathrooms, LCD TV's and tea and coffee making facilities, these rooms offer a charming stay ideally located in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street. Complimentary Wi-Fi now included in the room rate. With shared onsite facilities, both hotels (Comfort & Quality) have access to the heated indoor swimming pool and spa, roof top sun terrace, fitness room, bar, restaurant, cafe, self-service laundry (charges apply), onsite car parking ($25 per night) and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wellington
Wellington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing