We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inner city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice inner city hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

A nice inner city hotel at the top of Cuba Street. The building was built in the early 1900's but has been renovated to a good standard. The location can't be beat as it is in the heart of the arty/alternative area of downtown Wellington.

The rates are good but the rooms are tiny. If you like a good nights sleep request a room in the back of the hotel (away from Cuba Street). The rooms at the back are newer, quiet and have a queen bed but....you barely have enough room to open the door. The Cuba Street rooms are a bit older and have a double bed so you get a bit more space, the downside...can be a bit noise on the weekends with the party people on Cuba.

Off street secure parking for an extra charge. Safe feeling area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_travel_goddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    243
    167
    45
    32
See reviews for
62
245
84
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and well pleased with comfort and service. Rooms were a little tired but generally everything was in a good state. Hotel is an old historic building just off pedestrian walkway in Cuba Street. It is well located so as to provide easy access to anywhere in the city and there are many restaurants just down from it. Everything was cleaned to a good standard and the staff were always most polite.
Would certainly stay at this hotel again if back in Wellington , providing price remained competitive with similar of 3* standard.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I arrived in Wellington at 00.25hrs and then transport to hotel. Really kind welcome, nothing too much trouble, even at that hour of the morning. Comfortable room and clean bathroom. Plenty big enough for one person. Would stay again on next visit to Wellington.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewongbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I think this is the only hotel room we have ever stayed in that was higher than it was wide! Compact and bijou is the kindest description. But, hey, we were only there for one night.
Centrally situated, perfect for getting to the ferry terminals, and right in the middle of a great area for restaurants, etc. The waterfront is only a short walk away. Car parking costs a bit of money, but the car is safe and can be left there without worry overnight, which is good for the middle of a big city. Reasonably cheap internet connection in the main foyer. And the room rate won't break the bank. As I say, a very small room is likely come your way, but it's a decent place to kip even if not exactly characterful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

The Comfort Hotel is a budget hotel on Cuba St, close to plenty of restaurants.
At check-in, the staff were polite and helpful.
The night porter booked a taxi, gave us directions and checked us out early the next morning.
The room, while not the best, was what you would expect for the price we paid.
We were expecting a lot of noise as we were next to the lift but had a comfortable, good night's sleep.
Internet was available in our room, free up to 100mb which is adequate for checking emails etc.
The only down-side was the lift not working when we checked out so I had to carry our luggage down from the second floor.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twristiaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Budget hotel, stay whenever I need to visit Wellington as it's quiet (or has been for me), esy online or over the phone booking, cheap by comparison with other Wellington hotels, and so close to entertainment and restaurants.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank songsee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson NZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We stayed for three nights and the first two coincided with the International Sevens Rugby tournament so Wellington was very, very busy and the fans very excited. Consequently there was a lot of noise, in and outside the hotel. Sunday night was much quieter. If you stay in the Cuba Quarter or in Central Wellington you can expect noise.

The room we had was high on the back of the building and this is a good location to minimise noise. The rooms are quite small but adequate. The bedding was clean but the duvet showed signs of previous staining.

We took advantage of the buffet breakfast priced at $20 each each morning and thought it was good, if a little expensive. For dinner we ate at Roxy's next door to the hotel and at a Thai establishment in Cuba Mall - both were very good with excellent service.

We were limited in ou choice of hotels because of the rugby and I would generally select somewhere in a quieter location, but the Comfort Hotel was perfectly adequate and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Beachcomber02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wellington
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Wellington

Property: Comfort Hotel Wellington
Address: 213 Cuba Street | Dunlop Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly The Chancellor)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CQ Comfort Hotel Wellington exudes character and charm and is listed with the NZ Historical Places Trust. Blending timeless and classic architecture with modern essentials to ensure refined comfort, our rooms are cosy, flexible and have various bedding configurations to suit your style of travel. Equipped with modern ensuite bathrooms, LCD TV's and tea and coffee making facilities, these rooms offer a charming stay ideally located in the heart of vibrant Cuba Street. Complimentary Wi-Fi now included in the room rate. With shared onsite facilities, both hotels (Comfort & Quality) have access to the heated indoor swimming pool and spa, roof top sun terrace, fitness room, bar, restaurant, cafe, self-service laundry (charges apply), onsite car parking ($25 per night) and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wellington
Wellington Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing