We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Cambridge Hotel is a centrally situated, reasonably priced Wellington hotel which also functions as a Backpackers, so kitchen & laundry facilities are available. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is very tastefully renovated in period style.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SimoneOettli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived with the intention of staying in a hostel room, but due to some difficulties with the room, Josie, one of the reception staff was more than helpful! Best customer service I've ever seen. She moved us to a great room and sorted everything out very quickly.

5 star for customer service. Josie in particular. Will stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Fordh4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review!
My boss is very impressed :)
Were glad you had a great stay,
please call us next time you are here and we will ensure your stay is even better!
All the best,
Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed here now three times. I like staying here because everything is only a walk away from shops restrunts the movies and museum even the ocean which is very cool!!!! The customers service people are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maorigyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel part, and it was great value. The staff were friendly and the room was clean with a good little bathroom. It was walking distance to everything. The icing on the cake was the $3 eggs on toast - bargain!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, just ask to be away from Cambridge Terrace or the side street where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NaomiFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Unique with a nice home feel the cambridge is definitley the best place to stay in Wellington. It differs from other hotels/hostels due to its more of a personal interaction with the staff and other guests. Awesome location in the city centre, a few mins to the supermarket cinemas and just round the corner from courtney place, can catch bus to anywhere including train station and ferry terminals. Staff are really helpful with 24hr reception. Cleanliness is superb and rooms are decent size with sky tv and fridge. Hotels attached to a bar, so if you dont fancy venturing out does affordable breakfast and top grub. Place is value for money and definitley worth staying!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irfstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Cambridge Hotel/ Hostel is in central Wellington, so that you can walk to most attractions, sights and shops. There's a big bus station very close where from buses go to every part of Wellington.
The people who work in the hotel are nice, especially when you stay longer and they get to know you. The atmosphere is homely and welcoming.
Sometimes the hotel is a little bit unorganised and they would forget a booking or that you've paied already, but they always make sure that the problem gets solved and they do everything to make sure you're fine.
The showers here are awesome! The best I've had in a long while.
The beds are very comfortable and clean.
The kitchen for backpackers or everyone else who wants to cook for himself is somtimes a little untidy and it can be quite full at diner or breakfast time, but you always find a lot of nice people hanging around that you can chat with. The long-term backpacker are a bunch of very nice down to earth people who help making this hotel a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Backpacker dorm rooms have the best showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fejoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Chose the Cambridge as a good located hotel near to the CBD in the first place. Turned out to be a great place to stay: The rooms and facilities are nice and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and you definitely get what you are looking for, no matter if you're a hotel guest or a backpacker. The prices are affordable, so you get a good value for your money.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel1419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review Manual!
It was a pleasure having you here, i can see you are missed by lots of the backpackers and staff!

All the best for the future!
Josie & Jess
Accommodation managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#28 of 47 in Wellington
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £24 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing