We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I just stay here for one night. The location is good, easy to find. The price is very cheap, worth to recommend, but the room can be more clean, and also the washrooms. I didn't use the kitchen facilities so i don't know about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JIELUN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    302
    126
    43
    27
See reviews for
67
145
219
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Cambridge backpackers... I didn't expect it to be too good since the price was lesser than other backpackers I been too.. The room was spacious and warm at night... Enough showers and toilets available, so no need to wait...
Thanks for ur awesome service

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The reception was very helpful giving us directions to our rental car place "although it was wrong" breakfast was reasonably price and was very good. The only downfall for me was the bed, it was horrible had no sleep it was very noisy from drunkin idiots

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botkidsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked a four person room with it's own ensuite for myself and three teenage children. Two single beds and a set of bunks. The cost was only slightly more than a four person bunkroom with a shared bathroom, so we were pretty happy with that. The room had it's own tv and sky channels so the boys could watch football. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and they looked after our luggage for a whole day until we flew out. We would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Clean, cosy and very close to the centre (Cuba St), staff nice and kind. It has many spaces to socialize, like the ground level pub, and plenty of services.
Not a super starred hotel, but a great accommodation for cheap budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Francepiffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The room was a lot more basic than the impression given on the website. Would have rather spent a little more for decent facilties. Great location though. Close to Courtney Place, so street noise is noticeable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecats_neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

only cost 79 dollars for two people. its worth for a hotel room. I didn't expect bed was that big and soft. If next time go Wellington, I will definitely stay here again.
when we arrived already 4 o clock. it took little bit trouble to get there, so when we saw the hotel. feel like back home~I like that kind of decoration inside. one of reasonI selected hotel for accommodation because the night view of building. and its covienent for walk to bars and restaurants. especially after whole day walking and so starving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank violap519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#21 of 46 in Wellington
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Property: The Cambridge Hotel
Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing