We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed at The Cambridge Hotel on five occasions now, over four years and have found it cheap, clean, comfortable and so convenient. On three occasions i accompanied my sons school group and used the kitchen facilities which were always easy to access. I have booked three times a room with ensuite, and twice a shared room, and have never found accessing the bathroom a problem. Yes, sometimes the Hotel is noisy at night because of it's pub, but it's no noisier than staying in accommodation in Courtney Place. I highly recommend The Cambridge if you are looking for cheap, comfortable and convenient.

Room Tip: Sunday nights are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Therese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    298
    125
    41
    27
See reviews for
66
143
215
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times now. Both times have been boys trips away. The room was a single with a shared bathroom.. It has a bed and sky sports, what more do you need? The shared bathrooms are modern and very clean. Location is brilliant and the pub downstairs isn't bad either!

If you want a cheap, clean and central location to rest your head and explore from then the Cambridge is perfect.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KiwiJPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This has a great location (15 mins walking to almost anywhere downtown). Reception was helpful and friendly. I was travelling solo, so booked one private room which had a bed, desk, coffee maker, TV, and sink (bathrooms down the hallway). My one complaint is that it was very noisy at night (albeit I was staying Friday and Saturday night). This may be because my room was right above the bar area--I imagine if you ask for a quiet room this will not be a problem.

Room Tip: The downstairs part is a bar, so ask for a quiet room to avoid being above the noisy bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank aeshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I just stay here for one night. The location is good, easy to find. The price is very cheap, worth to recommend, but the room can be more clean, and also the washrooms. I didn't use the kitchen facilities so i don't know about it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JIELUN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Cambridge backpackers... I didn't expect it to be too good since the price was lesser than other backpackers I been too.. The room was spacious and warm at night... Enough showers and toilets available, so no need to wait...
Thanks for ur awesome service

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The reception was very helpful giving us directions to our rental car place "although it was wrong" breakfast was reasonably price and was very good. The only downfall for me was the bed, it was horrible had no sleep it was very noisy from drunkin idiots

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Botkidsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked a four person room with it's own ensuite for myself and three teenage children. Two single beds and a set of bunks. The cost was only slightly more than a four person bunkroom with a shared bathroom, so we were pretty happy with that. The room had it's own tv and sky channels so the boys could watch football. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and they looked after our luggage for a whole day until we flew out. We would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.6 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Property: The Cambridge Hotel
Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing