We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cambridge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
US$138
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
West Plaza Hotel(Wellington)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$249
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityLife Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
US$194
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Ohtel(Wellington)
US$214
US$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Airport Motel(Wellington)
US$90
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
181
315
131
44
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
315
131
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtney placeshared bathroomgreat locationsingle roomcommunal kitchenbudget hotela great place to staycourtenay placesky tvcity centreenjoyed my stayte papawould stay againnew zealandcentral wellingtonbackpackersfacilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed at the Cambridge hotel recently during a trip over to Wellington. Overall it was a very positive experience, the room was sizeable, clean and very good value. As an added bonus they had Sky TV which was great for watching the FA Cup! The hotel staff were all really friendly and the building is quite grand with a central location just minutes from the town centre. We also had a great fry-up breakfast in the bar before leaving! It was a little noisy at times, but not annoyingly so, and I would recommend the Cambridge wholeheartedly for those on a budget. If noise is an issue for you, then request the top floor away from the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank TourLeaderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have stayed at the Cambridge Hotel a couple of times now.

As far as hotels go, it's definitely on the lower end of the spectrum in terms of facilities, but it's still well-maintained and clean. However, it's cheap for what you get. I use the Cambridge as an affordable way of getting a decent private room to myself when in Wellington. In this regard it's actually cheaper than private rooms at most backpackers in Wellington, and I'd say it's a step above what a backpackers has to offer.

The shared bathrooms are of a high quality.

Breakfast is good, and cheap!

There is a decent shared kitchen facility, however it is poorly stocked for cutlery and plates - I basically had to provide my own.

Major gripe is that the rooms can get noisy at night. It's on a main street and above a bar, so I guess that's to be expected - but the walls seem pretty thin too!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street are quieter - request one of these if you want to sleep well without earplugs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TomWilkinson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your review, its has been very helpful.

I have ensured all staff make it clear to our customers that cutlery & plates are available to hire for $10 deposit at reception, we do however don't take a deposit for persons only using for a night. This keeps our kitchen clean, tidy and we have enough for everyone.

We hope to see you again and ensure your stay is even better next time

Kindest regards,
Cambridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Such a great location as it's basically right in the middle of town! Walking distance to a million bars and restaurants, as well as Mount Victoria, Te Papa and the waterfront. The staff were so nice! They would go completely out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible and they all have a wicked sense of humour. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank saldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review!
We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards,
Cambridge reception team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed for 3 nights for a course in Wellington hospital. Centre of town so easy access to food and under 30 minutes walk to the hospital, busses available. Friendly staff, great $3 eggs on toast breaky. Stayed in a single room with shared bathroom facilities. Small and basic but clean and enough for needs. Had tea/coffee, mini fridge, TV, sink/mirror, towel. Great place when on a budget. Earplugs helpful over the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hui_Chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed at The Cambridge Hotel on five occasions now, over four years and have found it cheap, clean, comfortable and so convenient. On three occasions i accompanied my sons school group and used the kitchen facilities which were always easy to access. I have booked three times a room with ensuite, and twice a shared room, and have never found accessing the bathroom a problem. Yes, sometimes the Hotel is noisy at night because of it's pub, but it's no noisier than staying in accommodation in Courtney Place. I highly recommend The Cambridge if you are looking for cheap, comfortable and convenient.

Room Tip: Sunday nights are quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Therese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews